Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 

Susan P. (britnavygirl) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 47 - Page:
The Age of Miracles
The Age of Miracles
Author: Karen Thompson Walker
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 6/11/2021


Why was this book heavily recommended to me? I liked the intriguing premise, but oh my goodness, it doesn't go anywhere! F for conclusion! I thought the very title hinted at a happy ending, a miracle, but no.....


The American Heiress
The American Heiress
Author: Daisy Goodwin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 101
Review Date: 7/26/2013
Helpful Score: 4


I thought this book was great!! For any fans of Downton Abbey, this is just what you want to eat up! No, it's not great literature, but she did her homework, and it totally goes along with the theme of Downton Abbey, except that it takes place in an earlier period. The heroine's name is Cora, which I thought was a bit unoriginal, but otherwise, I liked her and I had fun reading this, couldn't put it down.


Angela's Ashes (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
Angela's Ashes (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
Author: Frank McCourt, Frank McCourt (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 5/1/2013


This book is a mind-blower, and read by the author himself, in his mild and laconic way, it just pushes home the conditions they lived in and accepted. Awesome.


Blue Willow
Blue Willow
Author: Doris Gates, Paul Laantz (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 10/30/2013


This was nice, but I've read others like it that were better. It's a young adult book, but it sort of connected to "The Grapes of Wrath", it's that era and circumstances. It's clean and nice for young people


Candles on Bay Street
Candles on Bay Street
Author: K. C. McKinnon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 5/1/2013


This book is great fun! Especially if you live in Maine, or anywhere in Aroostook County! I live in Maine, and just loved the references to Maine things. The story is nice, no bad language, graphic sex or violence. Makes you feel you would like to live there.


The Continental Risque (Revolution at Sea Saga/James L. Nelson, Bk 3)
Review Date: 2/18/2013


This book is awesome! This SERIES is awesome!! I urge you to start with the first book, "By Force of Arms". This is the beginnings of the AMERICAN navy, and corresponds with the best of British Royal Navy fiction. I am a fan of Patrick O Brian and Horatio Hornblower and I loved these. Great characters, great action. The author lives in Maine, my adopted state. DO read this series, you won't be sorry!


Digging to America
Digging to America
Author: Anne Tyler
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 203
Review Date: 2/18/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Anne Tyler is an amazing writer, and I did enjoy this book, but it didn't QUITE get there. After I finished it,I didn't think "that was profound"; it didn't make me think about it for days and days afterward as some books do. It didn't quite accomplish it's purpose, although it was interesting.


The Dirty Duck (Richard Jury, Bk 4)
The Dirty Duck (Richard Jury, Bk 4)
Author: Martha Grimes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 5/1/2013


I LOVE Martha Grimes and the bunch at Long Piddleton! Richard Jury is a hunk, and the books are a great mix of British murder mystery and quirky humor. Many great characters. You must read the first 3 books first!


Dreams from My Father: A Story of Race and Inheritance
Dreams from My Father: A Story of Race and Inheritance
Author: Barack Obama
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 377
Review Date: 5/1/2013


I was curious about Barack's family history, and this really filled me in. Very well written and gives you the background for our President.


The Far Side of the World (Aubrey/Maturin #10)
The Far Side of the World (Aubrey/Maturin #10)
Author: Patrick O'Brian
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 69
Review Date: 5/1/2013
Helpful Score: 1


The Patrick O'Brian books are the VERY BEST. If you liked Horatio Hornblower, or the Alexander Kent series, you would love these! The action is the best, the characters are so likeable, so real, and so memorable----plus, his command of English is just awe-inspiring and FUN. I've never enjoyed a series more, I own and re-read all 20 of them.


For Kicks
For Kicks
Author: Dick Francis
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/1/2020


This book is awesome! I love his earlier books more than the later ones, but they're all good.


The Fortune of War
The Fortune of War
Author: Patrick O'Brian
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/1/2013


EXcellent!!


Freedom's Challenge (Catteni, Bk 3)
Freedom's Challenge (Catteni, Bk 3)
Author: Anne McCaffrey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 114
Review Date: 12/2/2020


Not my favorite series of Anne McCaffrey, but my brother likes them, so I got this for him.


The French Gardener
The French Gardener
Author: Santa Montefiore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 5/1/2013
Helpful Score: 1


It keeps you reading until the end...


From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler
From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler
Author: E. L. Konigsburg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 148
Review Date: 2/17/2021


I've heard about this book forever; I know it's a children's book, but many children's books are so good, even for adults (indeed, that's a hallmark of a good children's book!). Well, I was so disappointed and disgruntled, shall I say! I didn't like it at all, it was tedious, and the title was a misnomer.


The Girl on the Train (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 12/1/2020


Bestseller of the moment. Not unworthy, but actually kind of unmemorable. I read it this year, but can't remember the ending at all.


Half Broke Horses: A True-Life Novel (True Life)
Half Broke Horses: A True-Life Novel (True Life)
Author: Jeannette Walls
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 12/1/2020


Listened to the audio and at first I didn't like it, and it was confusing, because the author is reading it in the first person AS her grandmother....but in the end, I really liked it, it gave me a lot of talking points and things I didn't know. I ended up doing some research on her, which means a story really gets you.


The Help
The Help
Author: Kathryn Stockett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 680
Review Date: 4/1/2014


What more can I say to all the glowing reviews of this book that have gone before?? It's excellent and a wonderful read. I am definitely NOT going to repost it, I'm keeping it! The book is better than the movie, which was excellent. I watched it again after I read the book.


Here If You Need Me
Here If You Need Me
Author: Kate Braestrup
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 12/1/2020


I love her stuff. I feel I really LIKE her as a person, even if our religious views differ.


Hornblower and the Atropos
Hornblower and the Atropos
Author: C. S. Forester
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/5/2015


All the Hornblowers are so much fun!! Hornblower is a real hero. I heartily recommend reading them all.


1 to 20 of 47 - Page: