Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 

Marie N. (pottergal) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 92 - Page:
3rd Degree (Women's Murder Club, Bk 3)
3rd Degree (Women's Murder Club, Bk 3)
Author: James Patterson, Andrew Gross
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1061
Review Date: 11/25/2006


The Women's Murder Club series is a great read. Excellent charactersand plot that keeps you guessing!


4th of July (Women's Murder Club, Bk 4)
4th of July (Women's Murder Club, Bk 4)
Author: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 884
Review Date: 12/3/2006


wonderful book - really enjoyed this series


The 5th Horseman (Women's Murder Club, Bk 5)
The 5th Horseman (Women's Murder Club, Bk 5)
Author: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 409
Review Date: 5/13/2007
Helpful Score: 2


The Women's Murder Club is back with a story of deaths in hospitals and a doctor who is a little too melodramatic for his own good. Excellent as always!


Act of War (Scot Harvath, Bk 13)
Act of War (Scot Harvath, Bk 13)
Author: Brad Thor
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 7/20/2014


The story line is frighteningly believable. This is a rapid paced book that you can't skim because each page is rich and full of detail. That is, until you get to the end. Once again an author disappoints me by rushing from the point where the loose ends start coming together to the last page.

At one point, I was looking at the number of pages left and thought the story could not possibly come to a conclusion and that I was going to be left hanging till the next book came out in a year and then boom, done, here is the last page.

It was abrupt and hasty and ruined the book for me in a way. It would have been five stars if this hadn't been the way it ended.


The Affair (Jack Reacher, Bk 16)
The Affair (Jack Reacher, Bk 16)
Author: Lee Child
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 166
Review Date: 10/13/2011
Helpful Score: 3


When Jack Reacher is thinking hard, you can literally hear the gears meshing, moving and rearranging the data. He is quite the force to be reckoned with and this tale of how his feet hit the road he's walked in the 15 other books is a GREAT read.

Lee had me fooled a few times, as I trotted down the stray paths he set out for me. Enjoy this one - it is rich, like all the rest.


The Alibi
The Alibi
Author: Sandra Brown
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 149
Review Date: 11/25/2006


nice combination of romance and suspense. Will keep you guessing till the end


Along Came a Spider (Alex Cross, Bk 1)
Along Came a Spider (Alex Cross, Bk 1)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1062
Review Date: 12/26/2006


Never saw the movie and that is fine - the book pulled me into its spell completely


Atlas Shrugged
Atlas Shrugged
Author: Ayn Rand
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 354
Review Date: 3/5/2012
Helpful Score: 2


I wish I had read this book when I was young, but would I have understood it then? If I had, my ex-husband would never had a chance of becoming my husband!

This was a marathon read and it was well worth getting from page one to the end. You won't be disappointed by this book and you will find your mind twisting at times when the small things that didn't seem so bad on their own are shown to be HUGE as they lead to more and more controls by those grasping for power they can only have if we yield it to them.

At times I felt like the destruction described here is nipping at my heels here in 2012. I have to hope there are brave and smart rational men and women ready to rebuild from the ashes settling at our feet.


The Beach House
The Beach House
Author: James Patterson, Peter De Jonge
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 765
Review Date: 12/29/2006


Another great Patterson story - this time it is rich vs working class, neighbors and friends sticking together and "amazingly", justice proving it often isn't "for all"...


The Bear and the Dragon (Jack Ryan, Bk 10)
The Bear and the Dragon (Jack Ryan, Bk 10)
Author: Tom Clancy
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 170
Review Date: 7/29/2006


awesome!


Beautiful Ruins (P.S.)
Beautiful Ruins (P.S.)
Author: Jess Walter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 151
Review Date: 9/23/2014


This book is beautifully written. The language will wish over you. I could taste it, smell it and feel it. What a wonderful set of stories of lives interwoven in the oddest ways. Beautiful, lyrical language feast!


Bet Me
Bet Me
Author: Jennifer Crusie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 885
Review Date: 8/27/2006


Fun read with great characters. Creative use of Krispy Kremes!


The Big Bad Wolf (Alex Cross, Bk 9)
The Big Bad Wolf (Alex Cross, Bk 9)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 731
Review Date: 1/7/2007


another awesome thriller


Blue Smoke
Blue Smoke
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 682
Review Date: 9/9/2006


Wonderful story with a main character you watch grow up in her strong Italian family. Set in Baltimore.
Roberts weaves a great story here with family, job and love all wrapped together.


The Bookish Life of Nina Hill
The Bookish Life of Nina Hill
Author: Abbi Waxman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 10/27/2019


If you're reading this you're a reader, possibly a book lover, and more than likely someone who mourns the demise of physical bookstores in the United States. Being in a bookstore with Nina was only a part of her story but it said a lot about who she was and the choices she made. She's an interesting character who is created a life for herself. A rather peculiar upbringing doesn't seem to impair of her as much as you might think it would. This is a fun read that is uplifting and hopeful and when is there a day that we don't need that? Thank you for a lovely read Abbi.


Calico Joe
Calico Joe
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 87
Review Date: 5/30/2015


I grew up a Cubs fan and that means I may never love another team more than the Cubs of the 1960s. This book took me back to a time when baseball was part of every day. The games watched on WGN while folding laundry or ironing my dad's work clothes in the days before permanent press.

No one in my world was a professional athlete but we played softball on the boulevard, lived for Ladies Day when mom took us to Wrigley Field, and put aside most other pursuits when there was a game on TV.

This book is a novel about a game, a father and his son and the mystery of how we grow into the people we become, due to or in spite of the parents we get in the genetic lottery of birth.

If you love baseball, are a father or a son, this will touch you. Grisham is a great story teller and his play by play of the games put me in my room late at night listening to an away game on the transistor radio tucked under my pillow. Time travel with him back to a time when baseball players were heroes, right alongside our Fathers.


Cat & Mouse  (Alex Cross, Bk 4)
Cat & Mouse (Alex Cross, Bk 4)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 785
Review Date: 2/9/2007


the Excellent book that can never be made into a movie because hollywook screwedup Along Came a Spider.... so read it now becaue this is the only way to get this one! Another wonnderfully twisted Cross novel!


Catch of a Lifetime (Cricket Creek, Bk 2)
Catch of a Lifetime (Cricket Creek, Bk 2)
Author: LuAnn McLane
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 10/16/2022


An ever increasing cast of characters in this town become embroiled in bringing it, and themselves back to life. Baseball, theater, foodies, artists, carpenters and landscapers are merged into a community that is working hard to come back to life.
The men actually talk to the women and declare their feelings so we know this is fiction. The romantic sequences are steamy, so adults only.


A Certain Smile
A Certain Smile
Author: Judith Michael
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 7/29/2006


great story


Chesapeake Blue (Chesapeake Bay, Bk 4)
Chesapeake Blue (Chesapeake Bay, Bk 4)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 641
Review Date: 3/22/2007


Excellent wrap up to the series


1 to 20 of 92 - Page: