Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 

Debbie (deb3009) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 26 - Page:
After Dead: What Came Next in the World of Sookie Stackhouse
After Dead: What Came Next in the World of Sookie Stackhouse
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.2/5 Stars.
 80
Review Date: 2/18/2014
Helpful Score: 1


I actually laughed when I got this book. I would have never spent money on it, glad it was only a credit. Charlaine Harris, you've lost me as a fan.


Back of Beyond (Cody Hoyt / Cassie Dewell, Bk 1)
Back of Beyond (Cody Hoyt / Cassie Dewell, Bk 1)
Author: C. J. Box
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 8/21/2015


I wasn't thrilled with this book, and be aware it is NOT a Standalone, but Book 1 of a new series.


Badlands (Cody Hoyt / Cassie Dewell, Bk 3)
Badlands (Cody Hoyt / Cassie Dewell, Bk 3)
Author: C. J. Box
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 8/21/2015


I really liked this book! Be aware that it is NOT a standalone but book 3 in a continuing series. I wasn't that impressed with the first book in the series, Back of Beyond. but then I was happy to find out that book 2, The Highway is much better, and now Badlands is the best one yet. The story now centers around Cassie Dewell, and it no longer takes place in Montana but in North Dakota. Be sure to read The Highway BEFORE reading Badlands as it gives away a lot of that story in the first few chapters.


Caribou Island
Caribou Island
Author: David Vann
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 7/30/2017


Depressing book set In Alaska with a bunch of self-centered people feeling sorry for themselves.


The Cuckoo's Calling (Cormoran Strike, Bk 1)
The Cuckoo's Calling (Cormoran Strike, Bk 1)
Author: Robert Galbraith
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 139
Review Date: 10/8/2015


I'm going to be honest, I'm not a big Harry Potter fan so I was really surprised by how much I liked this book. The language didn't bother me at all, as I have a good friend who is British and that is exactly how she talks. Excellent mystery, with strong characters. So glad I already had book 2 of this series on my TBR so I don't have to wait to continue reading more in the Cormoran Strike series.


Death by Honeymoon (Book #1 in the Caribbean Murder Series)
Death by Honeymoon (Book #1 in the Caribbean Murder Series)
Author: Jaden Skye
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 1/8/2012


I had such hope for this book. Beautiful cover, and the thought of a new mystery series taking place in the Caribbean. What could be a better read in the dead of winter?
Well NOT this book!
The writing is awful, mistakes are abundant, and you're so distracted by the poor publication quality of this book(numerous blank spaces where words should be)that the plot becomes meaningless.


Far From True (Promise Falls, Bk 2)
Far From True (Promise Falls, Bk 2)
Author: Linwood Barclay
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 5/29/2017


I liked this book, but because it ends in a series of cliffhangers, be sure to have Bk. 3 in the series handy so you can just keep on reading and not have to suffer waiting to see what's going to happen.


First Thrills: High-Octane Stories from the Hottest Thriller Authors
Review Date: 10/22/2015


Like any anthology some stories are really good, and some I should have skipped altogether. But all and all it's a book worth reading. Some of my favorite authors are in here, and I found a few new ones that I am looking forward to reading more of.


The Hearse Case Scenario (Hitchcock Sewell, Bk. 3)
The Hearse Case Scenario (Hitchcock Sewell, Bk. 3)
Author: Tim Cockey
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 10/7/2008


Winner of the Lefty Award for "Best Humorous Mystery Novel" of 2002. This book is hilarious but still has a strong mystery storyline. I loved it!


The Highway (Cody Hoyt / Cassie Dewell, Bk 2)
The Highway (Cody Hoyt / Cassie Dewell, Bk 2)
Author: C. J. Box
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 8/21/2015


This is not a standalone but book 2 of a series. Unfortunately I found that out when I read Badlands BEFORE The Highway and it told me everything that happened in this book. Still this book is better then Back of Beyond which is Book 1, but try to read them in order. I did enjoy the introduction to a new character, Cassie Dewell, she really added to the storyline.


The House Across the Lake
The House Across the Lake
Author: Riley Sager
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 2/2/2023


Strange Book!
Started out as a solid mystery/thriller, then with only 100 pages left it veered totally off course and became a weird supernatural/horror novel.
I almost stopped reading, but did finish, and although I wasn't happy, the author did manage to somehow pull it all together so at least there was some type of plausible ending.


I, Michael Bennett (Michael Bennett, Bk 5)
I, Michael Bennett (Michael Bennett, Bk 5)
Author: Michael Ledwidge, James Patterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 102
Review Date: 12/17/2012


I normally enjoy James Patterson books & especially the Michael Bennett series. But this one totally is a disappointment. Everything was going along fine & then the book ended. You have no idea what's going on. Patterson should not have to resort to a cliff hangar ending!
I now see reviews on Amazon where people actually thought that their Kindle's had broken down & had lost the last chapter or something.
I read the hardcover & there is an excerpt for his book ZOO at the end so I was shocked when there was a bunch of pages left but not more Michael Bennett.


In the Unlikely Event
In the Unlikely Event
Author: Judy Blume
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 5/14/2016


WOW! What a GREAT book!
Loved the way Blume was able to take real events and add just enough fiction to make it an outstanding novel!


Joyland
Joyland
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 155
Review Date: 12/17/2013


Really enjoyed this book. Finished it in one sitting!


Just After Sunset
Just After Sunset
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 160
Review Date: 11/15/2015


You will love this book even if you are not a diehard fan of Stephan King. Every short story was GREAT! Be sure not to miss the Introduction in the beginning and the Sunset Notes at the end, both will give you some awesome insight about how King comes up with so many wonderful stories.


The Magic Strings of Frankie Presto
The Magic Strings of Frankie Presto
Author: Mitch Albom
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 2/25/2016


Shocked myself at how much I enjoyed this book! No matter what genre is your favorite, this is a must read!!
I too read it in one sitting. Amazing!!


The Murder Room: The Heirs of Sherlock Holmes Gather to Solve the World's Most Perplexing Cold Cases
Review Date: 2/18/2014


Really a slow read for me.


Nemesis (FBI Thriller, Bk 19)
Nemesis (FBI Thriller, Bk 19)
Author: Catherine Coulter
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 4/22/2016


Good plot but less then stellar writing by Coulter. I can understand now why she has taken on a co-author for her other series. The 3 1/2 stars I'm giving it is a little high, but do feel it deserves slightly better then a 3.


Puff, the Magic Dragon
Puff, the Magic Dragon
Author: Peter Yarrow, Lenny Lipton, Eric Puybaret (Illustrator)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 9/2/2008
Helpful Score: 1


OUTSTANDING!!!!!!!! Thank You Peter Yarrow (Peter, Paul, & Mary) for singing this wonderful story back in the sixties, then bringing it to life with a happy ending (without ever changing the words)in this beautiful children's book. A must have for every child, parent & grandparent!


Reunion at Red Paint Bay
Reunion at Red Paint Bay
Author: George Harrar
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/18/2014


Good book until the end, that left you hanging with a lot of unanswered questions.


1 to 20 of 26 - Page: