Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 

Donna C. (g-ma) - Reviews

21 to 40 of 3074 - Page:
Admission
Admission
Author: Travis Thrasher
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 4/8/2012


Kind of a hard book to review--it moves back and forth from the year 1994 one chapter then to 2005 the next chapter and that is the way this story is written, it isn't confusing and it kept my attention but it was hard to understand exactly where it was going and why. Being considered a Christian concept I guess it shows how you can change from the college drunken fun boy to the grown up responsible man.


The Adoption: A Psychological Thriller
The Adoption: A Psychological Thriller
Author: Greg Meritt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/16/2019


WOW! what a surprise! I was hooked from the beginning (that is good writing!) and as the story progresses it sounds more like a syfy story but it will grab you and hold you until the last page!

This is a debut novel by Meritt and I'm looking for more as long as he can hold my interest like this one.


Adrenalin
Adrenalin
Author: Michael Robotham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 1/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/2/2013


Took this off my wishlist because I can only find it in German, so beware of that fact before you order it.


After Death
After Death
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/10/2023


I was a huge Koontz fan in the beginning of his writing career but now? NOT!!

I've tried several times to read his books but he's just gone off the deep end with big words, preaching about everything and going off track, this books is no exception to all of that, it took me a while to figure out what was going on with Michael but then it was unbelievable, the plot of the gangbangers after the boy just got tedious with the slang talk and again the preaching and inserting short stories not related, then there is the assassin after Michael and again it's inserting short stories not related and using big words you can't possibly know without looking them up and who wants to do that?

Koontz hasn't been on my reading list for years and still won't be again, his writing is terrible and his stories are mostly just ridiculous

I'm sure I'll be in the minority but to each their own and if you like this book then good for you


After the Darkness (Large Print)
After the Darkness (Large Print)
Author: Sidney Sheldon, Tilly Bagshawe
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/4/2010


Wow! Great book!


All-American Murder: The Stunning True Story of Aaron Hernandez  (aka The Patriot)
Review Date: 2/10/2018


I'm not a big football fan but this is a story that caught the attention of the world, I think it is well written(a few typos but who cares), it gives a good insight into his life and why he went the direction he did, too bad his family couldn't help him when he was young and steer him right.


All Fall Down (DI Helen Grace)
All Fall Down (DI Helen Grace)
Author: M. J. Arlidge
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/26/2021


I'm giving this a weak 3 rating

1. way way too long almost 500 pages and most is just endless commentary that means nothing
2. relationship between Grace and Joseph doesn't add much to the storyline, it was more interesting when Grace was alone and turned to other 'means' for release
3. storyline just wasn't thrilling, it had a theme that I've read before and it just seemed to drag out
4. it has a lot of repeat that just makes it drag out longer it needs to, instead of making a thriller of a story it is more of just laid back commentary and why insert so much about Charlie's pregnancy? boring

I have liked this series in the first books but lately the last couple have been real duds and making it hard to want to read more but I'll continue and hope Arlidge will listen to reviewers and write a more thrilling storyline instead of a mess like this one


All For You: don?t miss the next thrilling and shocking psychological thriller from best selling author of The Date and The Sister in 2022!
Review Date: 11/4/2023


This turned out to be a mind blowing story!

It is well written, engages you from the beginning but when you get to the main points, which are several twists, you won't put it down!


All Is Not Forgiven
All Is Not Forgiven
Author: Joe Kenda
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/6/2023


Really liked the show Homicide Hunter, it was about the cases Joe Kenda had during his time in Colorado Springs as a detective, the show came to an end after 9 seasons and he said it was because the rest of his cases were to horrific for TV

My very low rating for this book is mainly because it is just confusing, in the beginning of the book Kenda states that it is not 'true' but fiction but he has himself in it as a rookie detective, so from that point the book is just a mismash of short stories in between trying to solve the main case of murder, it also jumps around in the locations along with more 'short stories'

I finally got tired of the tedious reading of the confusing mess and gave it up

I think Kenda could probably write a great murder story if he'd just leave out all the 'short' stories as sidelines


All the Dark Places
All the Dark Places
Author: Terri Parlato
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 1.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/10/2023


There was one rating at this time and it was 1/2 star

I almost gave it a 2 rating but I'll give it a 3

The story is very slow, I wouldn't call it a thriller so I'd just stick with mystery

It has 2 themes, one is the secret Molly carries and one is the death of her husband Jay

It takes pages and pages before you even get a hint of anything, then with that hint you think 'here we go' but no, it takes pages and pages for another hint to move the story a little, I almost gave up as I don't like slow moving stories but I opted for skipping and skimming and got the whole story without needing to read all the police investigation or all the 'thoughts' pages

I'd only recommend it for a rainy day or beach and be aware that it moves very slow and is not a thriller


All the Dirty Secrets
All the Dirty Secrets
Author: Aggie Blum Thompson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 1/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/28/2022


Before/after, now/then format---hate that

Bratty teenagers with snobbish parents

not for me!


All the Hidden Truths (DI Birch, Bk 1)
All the Hidden Truths (DI Birch, Bk 1)
Author: Claire Askew
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/26/2023


terrible writing! lots of words but boring book


All the Little Children
All the Little Children
Author: Jo Furniss
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 8/16/2019


This book was so stupid, had stupid characters with no sense at all and the storyline was ridiculous and just stupid
I doubt I ever try anymore by Furniss!


All the Lost Things: A Novel
All the Lost Things: A Novel
Author: Michelle Sacks
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 0.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/13/2019


I debated on a 1* or a 2* rating but actually I didn't like it at all

This entire book is from the POV of a 7 yr. old girl that 'mind talks' to her toy horse but yet according to the storyline she is very smart like Sheldon (Big Bang Theory), but yet it gets very tiresome reading from the POV of a child and all the words in CAPITAL letters? I don't know what was up with that and what that was supposed to mean because usually that means 'shouting' in text or email talk, doesn't it?

anyway, I got to just over the half mark and I just couldn't continue it was boring and childish, I quit so I can't even tell you how it ended because I didn't care.


All the Missing Girls
All the Missing Girls
Author: Megan Miranda
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 7/15/2016


Everyone has the right to their own opinion--

I found this to be very slow and very boring and I didn't like the format at all!

This is written backwards, once you get past the 'start' of the story then it goes to day 15 then goes back to day 14, so on and so on, it wasn't suspenseful or a thriller but just a confusing slow and boring story if you can endure it.


All the Wrong Places: A Novel
All the Wrong Places: A Novel
Author: Joy Fielding
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 1.9/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 1/5/2022


I see this had only a 1.6 rating but no one left reasons so----

I think the description lets you think this is about a serial killer? NOT!

Yes, there is a serial killer but the main story isn't about that and it only comes in like a subplot to keep you guessing
The main story is just another family drama---
Paige is the main character, Joyce her mother who is having a life crisis at the age of 70, Heather the cousin who stole her boyfriend and is the bitch of the book, Chole her best friend with a cheating husband---
so the story centers around these people and the serial killer (who you never know his real name, only as Mr. Right Now) is trying to entice Paige into a date (from a dating site) so he can torchure and kill her
The story is just family drama but it held my interest to the end as I wanted to know if he got Paige or Heather in his lair and yes he does and then it just ends so you have to fill in your own ending


All Through the Night (J. T. Ellington, Bk 2)
All Through the Night (J. T. Ellington, Bk 2)
Author: M. P. Wright
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 1/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/13/2018


Oh my gosh! This is one of the most terrible written books I've ever tried to read! Taking place in the UK this author seemed to think it necessary to use stupid phrases and slang but it just make for an irritating read, which I just couldn't finish it was so so boring, it has so much descriptions about everything and I mean everything under the sun, from the time he opens his eyes and putting his right foot on the floor and taking a step toward the bathroom---get the picture? It is so riddled with those kind of descriptions that the story is so boring, if it had been a shorter and tighter story keeping it interesting on every page it would probably be a good read but for me I just couldn't get past page 100, like trudging through mud!


All We Buried (Sheriff Bet Rivers, Bk 1)
All We Buried (Sheriff Bet Rivers, Bk 1)
Author: Elena Taylor
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 4/7/2021


This is the first installment of a new series with Elizabeth 'Bet' Rivers as sheriff of a small town replacing her father after he dies

Okay, so as the story unfolds a dead body is pulled from the lake by a college professor, and here it goes:
1. concern she can't fill her father's shoes
2. concern the deputy will win the election over her even though he hasn't enough experience
3. concern over taking over the dog
4. concern she won't do the job right
5. many characters from the past at times hard to keep track of who is who
6. concerns 1,2,3,4, again
7. enter the old timers that left town and now are back? why?
8. concerns 1,2,3,4 again
9. slow investigation, by the middle of the book I didn't care anymore who the dead girl was
10. concerns 1,2,3,4 again

So, get the drift? so I'd consider this boring!


Almost Dead (Lizzy Gardner, Bk 5)
Almost Dead (Lizzy Gardner, Bk 5)
Author: T. R. Ragan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 7/28/2015


This is a good series but start at the beginning!

This is a well written book, a lot is going on but you don't get lost along the way and you probably can't put it down for 5 minutes, you'll want to know what happens next!

I didn't like the title of the book 'Almost Dead' and as you read I think you will understand.


Alone (Generations, Bk 3)
Alone (Generations, Bk 3)
Author: Scott Sigler
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/7/2017


ATTENTION!---THIS BOOK IS 539 PAGES! NOT 240

Not a fan of SyFy books I did like the first 2 in this series, but when I got this one from the library I was hugely disappointed

I know it is SyFy but yet I still can't take it when it gets 'overdone' and I think this last one is just that, I didn't stick with it very long as I got very tired of trying to decipher the languages (which are made up of course), then just has too much descriptive detail of everything and I find that boring and not necessary

This is actually in the 'teen' genre but it'd take someone that really likes SyFy to stick with something that was as hard as this one is to get into and I don't know that many teens have that kind of attention span to stick with this book for 539 pages and a lot of it just boring descritpions


21 to 40 of 3074 - Page: