Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Autumn S. (ashultz) - Reviews

1 to 16 of 16
American Gods
American Gods
Author: Neil Gaiman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 985
Review Date: 7/1/2011


One of my favorite books, by one of my favorite authors. I fell in love with the characters. This book fell right in line with my new obsession of the magical realism genre.


The Boxcar Children
The Boxcar Children
Author: Gertrude Chandler Warner
Book Type: Library Binding
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 6/1/2014


This is a fun kids story. I've never read any others from this series, but this one is enjoyable. It stuck with me from my childhood and I just finished reading it to my 7 year old. Even though the story was published ten years before I was born, we both enjoyed it. It has simple sentence structure and would be perfect for a first or second grader to read on their own.

The four siblings avoid going to live with their grandfather because they think he won't like them. They fend for themselves by taking shelter in an abandoned boxcar. They are very creative in caring for themselves and are content in their self built home, then the youngest sister falls ill. The story wraps up nicely with a happy ending.


The Dreaming Tree: The Dreamstone / The Tree of Swords and Jewels
The Dreaming Tree: The Dreamstone / The Tree of Swords and Jewels
Author: C. J. Cherryh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 7/30/2011


I've read this one a few times. It's my go-to story when I'm in between books. The Dreaming Tree is in the elvin forest which is at it's end. The magic folk have mostly left as humans have moved into the lands near it. There is one inhabitant lingering for her love of her forest and in this story she falls in love with a man - this is the story of how she interacts with him, his wife and family, and the wars he's involved in. A good relaxing read.


The Girl Who Chased the Moon
The Girl Who Chased the Moon
Author: Sarah Addison Allen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 141
Review Date: 4/11/2014


I really enjoyed The Girl Who Chased the Moon from Sarah Addison Allen. The writing made it easy to connect with the characters in this relaxed southern summer-time story.

In excellent magical realism style, you're completely willing to embrace and love the unusual oddities of the town while deeply caring for the characters. I'll add it to my Sarah Addison Allen shelf.


The Graveyard Book
The Graveyard Book
Author: Neil Gaiman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 330
Review Date: 7/30/2011


One of Neil Gaiman's finest. Gaiman really brought the graveyard to life in this endearing story about a living boy raised by dead people and one very special guardian. I didn't want this book to end.


House
House
Author: Ted Dekker
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 213
Review Date: 6/25/2011
Helpful Score: 1


House by Ted Dekker is creepy and intense from page 1. This fast moving story seemed designed to make you look at your own darkness.


The Hunger Games (Hunger Games, Bk 1)
The Hunger Games (Hunger Games, Bk 1)
Author: Suzanne Collins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2325
Review Date: 12/3/2011


Amazing storyline - keeps you hanging on every word! Loved every minute of the day and a half it took to read. Can't wait for the movie in March 2012.


The Ice Queen
The Ice Queen
Author: Alice Hoffman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 265
Review Date: 7/24/2011


Read the whole book on a Saturday. Reads quick and keeps you interested. I loved the story and now want to know more about the affects of lighting strike victims.


If I Stay (If I Stay, Bk 1)
If I Stay (If I Stay, Bk 1)
Author: Gayle Forman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 239
Review Date: 7/30/2011


A short but powerful little story. I do remember it being written for a young adult audience. Sweet ending.


Life on the Refrigerator Door: Notes Between a Mother and Daughter
Life on the Refrigerator Door: Notes Between a Mother and Daughter
Author: Alice Kuipers
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 7/21/2013


This was a super fast read - as you would expect from a story told through quick fridge notes. A very touching reminder to make the most of our time with each other. I enjoyed this one!


Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children (Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children, Bk 1)
Review Date: 5/6/2014


I really enjoyed this odd story and am looking forward to the next one. The characters were interesting and endearing. Their situation was unique and adventurous. Great first book from Ransom Riggs!


Neverwhere (London Below, The World of Neverwhere, Bk 1)
Neverwhere (London Below, The World of Neverwhere, Bk 1)
Author: Neil Gaiman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 272
Review Date: 7/30/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Another instance where Neil Gaiman shoots us off into another world. I found myself caught up with the characters emotionally. A fun adventure!


O, Juliet
O, Juliet
Author: Robin Maxwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 7/1/2011
Helpful Score: 2


I'm not really big into romances - but this book opened my mind to a whole other genre. Who doesn't love the story of Juliet and her Romeo. This is a magnificent new version. Even though I know the original story, this one had me all wrapped up in the plot again. Loved it!


Shadow Baby
Shadow Baby
Author: Alison McGhee
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 11/10/2011


This is a brooding story of a young girl who is troubled by her family life and builds a friendship with an elderly man in her town. They share stories and take care of each other. It's a beautiful and sad story.


Stardust
Stardust
Author: Neil Gaiman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 281
Review Date: 7/1/2011


Ok. So maybe I do get into romances. :) I loved this book! I LOVE that when the graceful, beautiful star falls to the ground she curses. That is why I love Neil Gaiman - things in his worlds can be beautifully other-world and grossly realistic at the same time.


The Tiger Rising
The Tiger Rising
Author: Kate DiCamillo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 11/4/2013
Helpful Score: 2


This is a wonderful story - I really enjoyed it - but I would have waited to read it to my 7 year old daughter until she was a little older had I know the themes of the book would be so mature. DiCamillo writes about real raw life and the kids who live it. In this story she covers the painful loss of a parent, the temptation to stuff all that emotion, friendship and love, and the way adults fail children. All in one little book! Really powerful story for a young adult audience.

DiCamillo's other stories are great as well. The Tale of Despereaux is a beautiful story. Then Edward Tulane which is a little more heavy/adult themed, but still sad and beautiful and thought provoking.


1 to 16 of 16
Want fewer ads?