Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 

Pam M. (buttonsandbooks) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 27 - Page:
200 Low-Carb Slow Cooker Recipes: Healthy Dinners That Are Ready When You Are!
Review Date: 11/1/2013
Helpful Score: 2


I just got a copy of this and it does have some nice recipes, but I have a word of warning.

Some of the recipes call for ingredients such as Splenda in fairly large quantities which while it may taste good, is considered to be an artificial sweetener.

Some recipes also call for sugar free products containing sugar alcohols or polyols. Sugar alcohols can cause digestive distress.

So if you're looking for what I call "clean" recipes you may want to avoid this cookbook or modify the recipes a bit.


All Things at Once
All Things at Once
Author: Mika Brzezinski
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 9/10/2011


I really enjoyed this book. Mika takes the reader for an interesting ride - from being the daughter of a very famous yet grounded family through her years in broadcast journalism to the place where she finally found the proper fit with Morning Joe.

She shares what it's like to have a high energy, high profile position and raise a family. I read it in two nights and felt lucky to be able to make the journey along with her.


The Answer Is . . .: Reflections on My Life
The Answer Is . . .: Reflections on My Life
Author: Alex Trebek
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 12/17/2023


This was an easy and comfortable read. I was impressed by the man's humanity and generosity of spirit. He was invested in doing a good job and a lot went into the show. His stedfastness in the role of host and his ability to lead the team is what made it all work. His view of how we should treat each other shines through in the pages. I enjoyed getting to know more about him and would recommend this book.


Arc of Justice : A Saga of Race, Civil Rights, and Murder in the Jazz Age
Review Date: 8/15/2015


Kevin Boyle does an excellent job of framing this story. It really comes to life on the page. Stands with the best books written about about the legacy and the cost of segregation. A riveting read.


Big & Rich: All Access
Big & Rich: All Access
Author: John Rich, Big Kenny, Allen Rucker
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 8/9/2010


A great book for fans, it comes with a DVD.


Cash : The Autobiography
Cash : The Autobiography
Author: Johnny Cash
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 9/7/2013
Helpful Score: 1


My Mom watched Johnny Cash's television show when I was growing up so I knew of J C from an early age. This autobiography does not disappoint.

I disagree with the reviewer who said that Johnny wrote more about others than himself. He shares a lot about himself and his influences. He has great insights and spoke honestly about his addictions.

I found this to be a great and enjoyable read!


Crockery Cookery
Crockery Cookery
Author: Mable Hoffman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 5/17/2009


Handy for bringing shopping and the recipes are great!


Figure It Out! The Real Woman's Guide to Great Style
Figure It Out! The Real Woman's Guide to Great Style
Author: Geri Brin, Tish Jett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 3/16/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I got this book and it has great tips for picking the proper style for my body type. Very helpful, well written.


Fire Monks: Zen Mind Meets Wildfire
Fire Monks: Zen Mind Meets Wildfire
Author: Colleen Morton Busch
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/19/2023


I really enjoyed reading this book. It is the story of the 2008 wildfires at the Tassajara retreat which is located deep in the California wilderness Not only did the book cover the events surrounding the wildfires in great detail it also gave a view into the lives of the Tassajara community and how Zen teaching affected their decisions during the crisis.

Kudos to the writer Colleen Morton Busch for doing an excellent job.


The Frugal Gourmet
The Frugal Gourmet
Author: Jeff Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 5/17/2009


I always keep a copy of this book around, I love the recipes and the suggestions. Jeff Smith was great, one of a kind!


I Remember Nothing: And Other Reflections
I Remember Nothing: And Other Reflections
Author: Nora Ephron
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 1/2/2015


A great, soulful, quick read. Loved it!


I'll Take You There: Mavis Staples, the Staple Singers, and the March up Freedom's Highway
Review Date: 4/24/2019


Loved this book. It's a great read and a great musical journey.


Inheriting the Trade: A Northern Family Confronts Its Legacy as the Largest Slave-Trading Dynasty in U.S. History
Review Date: 12/22/2022


This is my review of the hardcover version of this book which I found very interesting and informative. It certainly helped broaden my understanding of the role that Rhode Island played in actively promoting the slave trade in the North. The family's story of discovery is a great part of the book.


Janis: Her Life and Music
Janis: Her Life and Music
Author: Holly George-Warren
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/17/2022


I have read several books on Janis' life and this is by far the best one I've read to date. It is very straightforward with no attempt to sensationalize the darker aspects of her life. The author spells out in bits and pieces the wonderful gift that Janis had and outlines her brilliant, but tragic career. The author did a lot of research for the book and it shows. This is quite a well written book.


Left To Tell: Discovering God Amidst the Rwandan Holocaust
Review Date: 12/30/2017


This is very well written book and is very straight forward in chronicling the horrors of the Rwandan Holocaust. It is one you'll remember long after you've read it.


Mom & Me & Mom
Mom & Me & Mom
Author: Maya Angelou
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 5/12/2018


"I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings" has always been a favorite book of mine. So this book, "Mom & Me & Mom" seemed like the perfect book to read around Mother's Day.

It is a wonderful book and a quick read. You get a real sense of where Maya Angelou got her strength and determination. It is above all, a tribute to her mom, written with love.


My Cross to Bear
My Cross to Bear
Author: Gregg Allman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 12/28/2013


Got this for Christmas and finished it in two days. It fills in a lot of the missing pieces in Gregg's and the bank's history. It's nice to hear his side of things. I walked away having respect for the guy despite his many excesses. It's a good read.


Peace in the Storm : Meditations on Chronic Pain and Illness
Peace in the Storm : Meditations on Chronic Pain and Illness
Author: Maureen Pratt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/26/2023


I sent this book to my sister and she loved it. She struggles with chronic illness as do others she knows. She has shared parts of this book with others. This book comes highly recommended.


Red Notice: A True Story of High Finance, Murder, and One Man's Fight for Justice
Review Date: 8/9/2023


This is an outstanding book. It is non fiction but reads like a great novel. This book gives great insight into how the Russian government really operates and the price a person can pay for interfering with the system. Browder lays it all out and writes the playbook on how to fight back.


Scars of Sweet Paradise : The Life and Times of Janis Joplin
Scars of Sweet Paradise : The Life and Times of Janis Joplin
Author: Alice Echols
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 6/19/2014


This is a great book in that it provides a lot of information about the time and places that are the backdrop for Janis'short life and the things that drove her to excess. I enjoyed the writer's style immensely.

I highly reccomend this book.


1 to 20 of 27 - Page: