Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 

Rachel C. (rachum05) - Reviews

1 to 15 of 15
American Idle
American Idle
Author: Alesia Holliday
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 8/20/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This was a light, easy, and entertaining read about a woman named Jules, who gets in over her head at her new job. The characters are wacky, hilarious, and balancing right on the edge of believable and mouth-dropping-open unbelievable. Definitely great if you're looking for a few laughs!


An Invisible Woman
An Invisible Woman
Author: Anne Strieber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 9/21/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I felt like this was a very mediocre book. I kept waiting for it to get exciting, but really, it never does. It just progresses in a straight line, exactly the way you'd expect it to unfold, all the way to the predictable ending. Not worth the time it took to read it, IMO.


Can You Keep a Secret?
Can You Keep a Secret?
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 818
Review Date: 8/14/2007
Helpful Score: 7


I loved this book because all of the characters in it seemed so human, and they were very easy to relate to. This book definitely has some laugh-out-loud moments, along with some, "Hey, I know how she feels" moments. Definitely a good read.


The Giver (Giver, Bk 1)
The Giver (Giver, Bk 1)
Author: Lois Lowry
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 997
Review Date: 8/13/2007
Helpful Score: 14


One of my favorite childhood books, The Giver is great for children and adults alike. Children can relate to the feeling of the main character, Jonas, and his struggle with growing up and being different. Adults will enjoy it because it shows what could happen in a community when every aspect of life is "controlled". This is a great read-aloud book, and even better as a gift!


Jennifer Government
Jennifer Government
Author: Max Barry
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 9/13/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This is a quick read, but a good one. It takes place in the future and paints a scary, almost-too-realistic view of what the world would be like if corporations took over. It also showcases the most frustrating points of bureaucracy in a way that make you shake your head and think, "That will be us 50 years from now." The web of characters just gets more complicated and interesting as the story goes on, and it has a satisfying ending. All in all, a great book!


Mad As the Dickens (Laura Fleming, Bk 7)
Mad As the Dickens (Laura Fleming, Bk 7)
Author: Toni L. P. Kelner
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 12/28/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This was a good read because it has the right blend of mystery, surprises, and humor. The only "negative" thing about this book was that there were either too many characters, or the author didn't paint a clear picture of each one...when someone was mentioned, I had to keep going back and figuring out exactly who was being talked about.


The Nanny Diaries
The Nanny Diaries
Author: Emma McLaughlin, Nicola Kraus
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 725
Review Date: 9/26/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This book absolutely took me in, got me involved, and had me bawling by the end. It's got characters that are so outrageous that your mouth will drop open, a little boy who is so real you almost swear he exists, and one exhausted Nanny who you root for pretty much the whole way through, not to mention the all-too-realistic but sad ending. Truly, a wonderful book.


The Pact (Rachel Benjamin, Bk 1)
The Pact (Rachel Benjamin, Bk 1)
Author: Jennifer Sturman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 113
Review Date: 8/20/2007
Helpful Score: 5


It sounds like a good book from the back cover, but it wasn't a story I personally could get into. The plot (what I read of it) seemed oh-so-predictable, and the fact that nobody really cared that Richard died made me not really care, either. And why would I keep reading to find out who did it, if I don't really care that much? This book was just not for me.


The Perfect Wife (Salinger Sisters, Bk 3)
The Perfect Wife (Salinger Sisters, Bk 3)
Author: Shari MacDonald
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 4/30/2008
Helpful Score: 3


Even though this book is the 3rd in a series, you don't have to read the first two to "catch up" on the storyline. I liked a lot of the dialogue, and I did laugh out loud a few times.
The downside to this book is that it was so painfully predictable. From beginning to end, this book follows the exact formula for so many chick lit books and chick flick movies that it just simply blends in with the other white noise.
If you're looking for something original, fresh, and different, this is not the book for you. However, if you're looking for something comfortable, familiar, and with the classic "happy ending", have at it.


The Shop on Blossom Street (Blossom Street, Bk 1)
The Shop on Blossom Street (Blossom Street, Bk 1)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1027
Review Date: 8/13/2007
Helpful Score: 6


This is a wonderful story of four women's very different lives and how a simple knitting class brings them together. There were definitely some tearful moments in this book, as well as some laugh-out-loud moments. Each of the characters brings something completely unique to the table and you can't help but silently root for all of them as the story plays out, and their lives become more intertwined.


The Starlight Crystal
The Starlight Crystal
Author: Christopher Pike
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 4/21/2008


This was my first Christopher Pike book, and in the beginning, I was so turned off by the choppy sentences and overuse of adjectives that I almost didn't read it.

I am so incredibly glad that I did read this book, because not only was it a captivating story, I feel like it gave me insights that I already knew, but didn't realize I knew. Definitely a deep book, one that will burn in your memory and effect your thoughts long after you finish it.


Unbecoming Behavior
Unbecoming Behavior
Author: Stephanie Rowe
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 9/13/2007
Helpful Score: 3


Most of this book was interesting, although I found it kind of annoying that the main character flitted back and forth between 3 or 4 different men. I also felt that the characters were a little bit too one-dimensional to seem realistic.

If you're looking for a quick, mindless read, this book is great for you. If you're looking for even a little bit of substance, stay away.


The Undomestic Goddess
The Undomestic Goddess
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 733
Review Date: 8/14/2007
Helpful Score: 4


If you are a girl born without the "housewife" genes, this is the book for you. Even if you are a great housewife, you'll enjoy this book because you can giggle at the main character's hilarious attempts to figure out what the heck she's doing, how she got where she is now, and how she's going to get out. A light, entertaining read.


Wicked (Wicked Years, Bk 1)
Wicked (Wicked Years, Bk 1)
Author: Gregory Maguire
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3599
Review Date: 1/31/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This book was so captivating I could hardly put it down! Definitely a great new way to look at the classic story of The Wizard of Oz.


Worst Case Scenario Survival Handbook: Travel
Worst Case Scenario Survival Handbook: Travel
Author: Joshua Piven, David Borgenicht
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 9/13/2007
Helpful Score: 1


A very cute, very informative little book! This handy survival book covers everything from the very useful (How to stop a car with broken brakes, how to survive a mugging) to the downright obscure (how to stop a runaway camel, how to survive a UFO abduction). It has handy little pictures and diagrams for the tricky parts, simple-to-read step-by-step instructions, and even a list of helpful emergency phrases in 5 different languages! A must-have for anyone who travels a lot, or even just a little!


1 to 15 of 15