Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 

Mary Anne K. (goldensrule) - Reviews

1 to 14 of 14
Alert (Michael Bennett, Bk 8)
Alert (Michael Bennett, Bk 8)
Author: James Patterson, Michael Ledwidge
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 8/10/2015


I enjoyed the earlier books in this series. It has deteriorated over time. Bk 7 was poor and this one is just nonsensical. I gave up buying Patterson books at retail long ago. I think it is no longer worth wasting a credit to get them for "free"


Collared (Andy Carpenter, Bk 16)
Collared (Andy Carpenter, Bk 16)
Author: David Rosenfelt
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 7/19/2017


Have read all of this series and this was one of the best. Quick read, entertaining and lots of twists


The Deserter (Scott Brodie and Maggie Taylor, Bk 1) (Large Print)
The Deserter (Scott Brodie and Maggie Taylor, Bk 1) (Large Print)
Author: Nelson DeMille, Alex DeMille
Book Type: Library Binding
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/22/2020


I am having a hard time getting through this book even after 200+ pages. I am a big fan for the John Corey series but this lacks the wit and repartee.


The Dog Master
The Dog Master
Author: W. Bruce Cameron
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 8/11/2015


I just loved this book and devoured it in 2 days. If is a combination of Clan of the Cave Bear and a dogs purpose.


The Elephant Keeper
The Elephant Keeper
Author: Christopher Nicholson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 6/13/2014
Helpful Score: 2


Thoroughly enjoyed this book. Easy read with much food for thought about man's humanity and our relationship to the other species we share our world with.


The Girl on the Train: A Novel
The Girl on the Train: A Novel
Author: Paula Hawkins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 466
Review Date: 2/10/2015


This is utterly dreadful. I suggested it to my husband as he was out of books and bought it new a BN. He got 100 pages in and gave up as he had no clue what is was about or what was going on. I gave it a try and abandoned it at 70 pages.


Holy Ghost (Virgil Flowers, Bk 11)
Holy Ghost (Virgil Flowers, Bk 11)
Author: John Sandford
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 10/25/2018


This book is a real bore. Trying to finish but maybe not.


The Horseman
The Horseman
Author: Tim Pears
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 0.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/6/2017


I am halfway through and will not be finishing. There is no character development or advancement of a story line. Was looking forward to this as i really like historical fiction and horses. Big disappointment!


The Ice Limit (Ice Limit, Bk 1)
The Ice Limit (Ice Limit, Bk 1)
Author: Lincoln Child, Douglas Preston
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 236
Review Date: 9/17/2008


I enjoyed this book very much. Fast paced. Reminds me of Clive Cussler books.


Juror #3
Juror #3
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 9/24/2018


Awful. Not a real book but 2 book shots in one binding. do not waste your credit


The Rooster Bar
The Rooster Bar
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 2/24/2018


Definitely not a favorite. Maybe for me, too close to the truth as I personally know very many young adults whose lives are now destroyed because of student debt for worthless degrees from no tier schools. Not the subject of fiction.


The Right Side: A Novel
The Right Side: A Novel
Author: Spencer Quinn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 7/14/2017


I know this would be a serious book but was expecting an impactful relationship with a dog. I am 100+ pages and so far no dog has been introduced. It is well written but I am not a fan of reading about the tragedies of the wars we have become involved with. I am old enough to know full full that war is hell and the men and women who return are forever damaged (whether visible or not). Do not think I will finish.
Looking forward the return of Chet the Jet!


Timbuktu
Timbuktu
Author: Paul Auster
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/20/2020


I really loved this book. Somehow the dog as narrator was very important in evaluating the human condition and its many deficiencies.


Turbo Twenty-Three (Stephanie Plum, Bk 23)
Turbo Twenty-Three (Stephanie Plum, Bk 23)
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 102
Review Date: 1/28/2017


Think I am done with this series. I fondly remember laughing out loud at the earlier ones. This was stale and trite. Boring...


1 to 14 of 14