Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Scott L. - Reviews

1 to 9 of 9
The Affair (Jack Reacher, Bk 16)
The Affair (Jack Reacher, Bk 16)
Author: Lee Child
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 166
Review Date: 5/2/2012


This is my first Lee Child book and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I obviously don't have a point of reference for how this book compared to the others. All I know, is that it kept me engaged. It is well written and keeps the plot line moving and well-connected from one chapter to the other. Well worth the read.


Make Your Bed: Little Things That Can Change Your Life... and Maybe the World
Review Date: 2/1/2023


Great advice told in a context most people will find interesting and enlightening.


Mandela's Way: 12 Lessons on Life, Leadership, and Love
Mandela's Way: 12 Lessons on Life, Leadership, and Love
Author: Richard Stengel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/2/2022


Excellent reminder of core principles to live by.


Mars and Venus Starting Over: A Practical Guide for Finding Love Again After a Painful Breakup, Divorce, or the Loss of a Loved One
Review Date: 11/14/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I found this book to be very insightful and full of great advice. I would strongly recommend that to anyone who is going through a difficult time and looking to come out the other side a stronger, more balanced person. Losing a relationship hurts, but this book will indeed help you start over and find a loving relationship you deserve.


No Mark upon Her (Duncan Kincaid / Gemma James, Bk 14)
No Mark upon Her (Duncan Kincaid / Gemma James, Bk 14)
Author: Deborah Crombie
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 5/14/2013


Enjoyed the writing and the plot. At the beginning, I was having some difficulty keeping the characters straight, but that worked itself out as it often does in good books.


Orange Is the New Black: My Year in a Women's Prison
Orange Is the New Black: My Year in a Women's Prison
Author: Piper Kerman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 176
Review Date: 8/19/2014
Helpful Score: 1


Given the hype surrounding this book, I could only give it 3 stars. It was interesting to learn what it was like in prison, but did not a real compelling plot line. From what I understand, the HBO series sensationalizes the book significantly.


Power Forward: My Presidential Education
Power Forward: My Presidential Education
Author: Reggie Love
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/4/2015


An interesting view inside a presidential campaign and the White House. Reggie Love is someone you would like to have a beer with and discuss a wide range of issues... or better yet, get invited to one of his pick-up basketball games. A worthwhile and interesting read.


Sell It Like Serhant: How to Sell More, Earn More, and Become the Ultimate Sales Machine
Review Date: 6/10/2022


Even though the book focuses on the real estate industry, there are clear implications for other professions and for life.


The Woman in Cabin 10
The Woman in Cabin 10
Author: Ruth Ware
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 1/28/2022


Good, but not a great book. Dragged at times for me. But then again, I'm a guy and maybe it just wasn't written for me.


1 to 9 of 9
Want fewer ads?