Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 

Rachel W. (starkissed2012) - Reviews

1 to 17 of 17
The Burn Farm
The Burn Farm
Author: Michael Benson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 4/22/2011


This book was different from your average true crime book, mainly because it involved a female sadist/killer. It kept me interested throughout mainly because it was so bizzarre and unusual. Lots of graphic details and lots of sexual reference. Author has a way of getting you to visualize all the characters in this sick twisted sad and bizzare tale.


The Butterfly Garden: Surviving Childhood on the Run with One of Americas Most Wanted
Review Date: 5/5/2011
Helpful Score: 3


Not as horrific as some of the child abuse cases I've read about, but definately an interesting account. The discovery of who his parents really are was a surprise to me. My heart goes out to the little boy Chip once was in the story. His courage is inspirational and I love how his love Lisa helped and encouraged him to reveal his creative side. Even though the book goes back and forth from childhood to more present day, it was easy to follow, and in my opinion well written.


Candy Girl: A Year in the Life of an Unlikely Stripper
Candy Girl: A Year in the Life of an Unlikely Stripper
Author: Diablo Cody
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 218
Review Date: 12/1/2010


Easy Read...read it in two days...the writer is funny throughout and has a unique way of describing herself and her surroundings. A real eye opener for how things really are in strip clubs and the sex industry. This book will either intrigue or disgust you!


Cellar Of Horror: The Story Of Gary Heidnik
Cellar Of Horror: The Story Of Gary Heidnik
Author: Ken Englade
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 11/21/2010
Helpful Score: 2


Good read for the most part. At first couldn't put it down. Dragged a little at the end with the court case. Very disturbing but if you don't like true crime/murder stories then i don't think you would read this in the first place.


A Child Called 'It': One Child's Courage to Survive
A Child Called 'It': One Child's Courage to Survive
Author: Dave Pelzer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1967
Review Date: 10/17/2010


tear jerking couldnt put down


House of Secrets:  A True Story of Family Murder and Madness
House of Secrets: A True Story of Family Murder and Madness
Author: Lowell Cauffiel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 5/27/2011


This has got to be the best true crime/child abuse book i have ever read, and i have read many. Its also the sickest book i have ever read. It is so shockingly hard to believe people like Eddie Sexton and his wife exist in this world. In comparison to other true crime books, i never got bored of this book ...like i do some... especially towards the end with the court cases. This book keeps the story going throughout with more sick details and revelations all the way to the end. Shocking pictures in here as well. Everything from Incest, physical and verbal child abuse, to murder. Once in a while it jumped around from character to character scene to scene , and there were so many children and people involved in the case it was a little bit hard to keep track of who was who, other than that well written book. Highly recommend if you like this type of genre of reading.


The Last Victim: A True-Life Journey into the Mind of the Serial Killer
The Last Victim: A True-Life Journey into the Mind of the Serial Killer
Author: Jason Moss, Jeffrey Kottler
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 59
Review Date: 5/21/2011


I found this book easy to read took me two days..(thats usally the norm for me when i find it hard to put book down) Unusual true story of an intelligent 18 year old kid that had a bright future, who befriended serial killers and played along with them to get inside their minds, almost at his life's expense. Good read.


A Piece of Cake : A Memoir
A Piece of Cake : A Memoir
Author: Cupcake Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 112
Review Date: 9/12/2012


Great book...incredible story of a girl who had a life that most of us couldn't even imagine. I really enjoyed reading this book and finished it in one day.


Playground : A Childhood Lost Inside the Playboy Mansion
Playground : A Childhood Lost Inside the Playboy Mansion
Author: Jennifer Saginor
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 4/25/2011


This book was unbelievable, surreal. Author brings you inside the Playboy Mansion, a place most of us will never get to see the inside of. It is troubling to know what this woman went through as a child, growing up so fast in that environment. Very descriptive ...it reels you right in. It was hard to put down.


Politically Correct Bedtime Stories: Modern Tales for Our Life and Times
Review Date: 2/10/2011


Hilarious! Wish there were more stories in it. Especially liked this version of Chicken Little.


Rock This!
Rock This!
Author: Chris Rock
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 11/11/2010


VERY FUNNY ,CHRIS ROCK IS HYSTERICAL, COULD'NT PUT BOOK DOWN, EASY READ


Tears of Rage
Tears of Rage
Author: John Walsh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 12/23/2010


good book. I think i cried when i read it. So tragic.


Toss, Keep, Sell!: The Suddenly Frugal Guide to Cleaning Out the Clutter and Cashing In
Review Date: 2/27/2011
Helpful Score: 8


I bought this book because i have a lot of clutter and i sell things on ebay and trade books on paperbackswap and wanted some new ideas. Guess what? almost everything in here i am already doing, or have done. It really didn't give me any new information. I could have written this book myself. If you think tips like use raggedy old towels for rags or empty paper towel rolls for hair ties and tells you you can sell stuff on craigslist are helpful tips than this is for you. It was easy to read, i read the whole thing in a couple of days. The only use it is to me was the couple of web sites listed in it. Otherwise thanks i know you can donate used clothes to charity or sell them at a consignment shop, and i think most people know that.


Traci Lords: Underneath It All
Traci Lords: Underneath It All
Author: Traci Lords
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 11/27/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Read it in a short period of time. really interesting to learn about the real traci lords and why and how she became who she is. Lots of photos too. She's not just another pretty face. She is very smart and talented in many areas. A good read.


Under the Bridge
Under the Bridge
Author: Rebecca Godfrey
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 4/20/2011
Helpful Score: 2


your average true crime book with backround of people involved events leading up to and during crime and follow up with court cases and life after the crime. What made it so disturbing is the young age of the children involved and the cruelty of their acts. There were some pictures of the people involved but i wished there were more pictures of the teenagers involved because it describes so many of them in detail you want to see their faces. You want to know what these people look like that are so heartless. There are more pictures of the prosecuters etc... than of the victim and people involved in the beating. At times this book was a little hard to follow because it jumped around from one scene and set of people to another a lot. I was left feeling angry regarding the injustice of the one boy who was less involved and was remorseful getting more time than the girl who bragged about what she did and show no remorse. I also was left feeling angry that the girl that planned the whole thing to begin with only did a year. Fast read i read it in two days.


Wild Boy: My Life in Duran Duran
Wild Boy: My Life in Duran Duran
Author: Andy Taylor
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 2/27/2011


You will only really appreciate this book if you were a true Duran Duran fan. It was interesting to find out about the behind the scene happenings, and about Andy's life. It only took me three days to read this. It also delves into each of the members personalities and tells you from Andy's perspective why such a great band went their separate ways. Has some pictures in it too. A must read for all Duranies. If you aren't a true fan it may not be for you. I however was obsessed with them in the 80's and of course had to read this book!


The World's Worst: A Guide To The Most Disgusting Hideous; Inept, And Dangerous People, Places, And Things On Earth
Review Date: 11/17/2010


This Book is an easy light read with some interesting facts. Learned some things i did not know!


1 to 17 of 17