Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 

Louise B. (louiseb) - , - Reviews

1 to 13 of 13
The Abstinence Teacher
The Abstinence Teacher
Author: Tom Perrotta
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 118
Review Date: 9/5/2009


Interesting point of view about the intersection of evangelical Christians and the "real" world. Fast read.


Accidentally on Purpose: A One-Night Stand, My Unplanned Parenthood, and Loving the Best Mistake I Ever Made
Review Date: 5/22/2012


sweet book, easy read.


Angry Conversations with God: A Snarky but Authentic Spiritual Memoir
Review Date: 11/7/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoyed this book! As a woman of similar age to Susan, I could relate to some of the dating and life challenges she faced, and how she addressed them (or not) in a Christian way. Her conversations with God were funny, easy to read, and best of all, enlightening - why is it that God who loves us so much, doesn't give us everything we want? How come crummy things happen again and again - where is God in all this? It seems like she learned a lot over the course of the book and she shares what she's learned in a funny way.


Dead To Me (Simon Canderous, Bk 1)
Dead To Me (Simon Canderous, Bk 1)
Author: Anton Strout
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 96
Review Date: 9/5/2009
Helpful Score: 1


It got boring towards the middle; too forced, too punny.


Educating Esme: Diary of a Teacher's First Year
Educating Esme: Diary of a Teacher's First Year
Author: Esme Raji Codell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 9/5/2009


She sounds like a wonderful teacher; I hope someone like her works with my kids!


The Garden of Eden and Other Criminal Delights
The Garden of Eden and Other Criminal Delights
Author: Faye Kellerman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 5/5/2012


If you enjoy Faye Kellerman, you will like this book; not just Decker and Rina but other stories as well. Good read.


The Great Fitness Experiment: One Year of Trying Everything
Review Date: 11/7/2011


Enjoyed the book and after reading it am inspired to try a cross fit workout and some high interval training. The big unanswered question for me throughout the book was "how does a woman with four small kids manage to spend so much time in the gym?" I wish she'd addressed the "how I balanced this with the rest of my life" aspect a bit more, but I enjoyed her description of her workout months. She is open and candid about past challenges and how she developed an eating/exercise disorder, and how this program in some ways fostered the disorder, and in some ways helped her manage it. Most of all I like the essay in which she shared a few pictures of her stomach - shows how multiple pregnancies can cause even a super fit woman to have a non flat stomach. Her shared experience helps me accept my body more, which I think was her point.


The Likeness (Dublin Murder Squad, Bk 2)
The Likeness (Dublin Murder Squad, Bk 2)
Author: Tana French
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 289
Review Date: 4/5/2010


Thought the book was good, not great; an okay read but not one I'd want to read again.


Lily White
Lily White
Author: Susan Isaacs
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 9/10/2009


fun, easy read. Not the best of Susan Isaacs (I give my vote to Shining Through) but entertaining.


Mystic and Rider (Twelve Houses, Bk 1)
Mystic and Rider (Twelve Houses, Bk 1)
Author: Sharon Shinn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 1/2/2010


Loved this book. I read the fifth book in the series before I read this one, which is the first. Didn't matter, still enjoyed learning the background of the characters. Well written, great characters and plot.


Parking Lot Rules & 75 Other Ideas for Raising Amazing Children
Parking Lot Rules & 75 Other Ideas for Raising Amazing Children
Author: Tom Sturges
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 8/22/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This had a few good ideas - "parking lot rules" is one of them. In some places it seemed a bit overblown, however. For example, the author said he wrote the book because there were NO books available when his sons were born with advice on how to be a good parent. Really? Not one? One of his rule is "No Yelling. Ever." Really? Even when you see your child about to do something unsafe in the distance? It seems boy centric - natural because he talks about his relationship with his sons - but boy centric none the less. I wouldn't make it required reading for all new parents, but it's an easy read with some good ideas.


Reader and Raelynx (Twelve Houses, Bk 4)
Reader and Raelynx (Twelve Houses, Bk 4)
Author: Sharon Shinn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 1/2/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Really enjoyed this book. Read the fifth book in this series before reading the earlier books and so far my favorites have been #5, #1 and this one, #4. The characters are well written and dimensional, and some scenes are worth reading over and over. One of my favorite series in this genre, ever.


Where Did I Leave My Glasses?: The What, When, and Why of Normal Memory Loss
Review Date: 8/22/2019


I loved this book! Plenty of useful information about the science of memory, including gender differences, what type of memory issues are normal, the effectiveness of supplements, diet and exercise. Solid scientific information, presented in a fun, interesting, easy to understand way. Highly recommend.


1 to 13 of 13