Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 

Kim R. - Reviews

1 to 12 of 12
56 Days
56 Days
Author: Catherine Ryan Howard
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 10/16/2023


Quick who done it book - twist was a little bit of a stetch


All Things Cease to Appear
All Things Cease to Appear
Author: Elizabeth Brundage
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 5/26/2019


Definitely a book I didn't want to put down. The stark truths of what we accept in our lives and why we do things. I really enjoyed all the characters yet Was disappointed in so many things - would her parents really not push to find the killer. How can letters be found years later and were never discovered. There is so much wonderful detail that gets you invested in the characters and then the end of the book is rushed, literally jumping forward 20+ years. Cole Hale never came clean even to Franny about that last day? I'm feeling jipped that the ending was so rushed and skimmed over.


Black Like Me
Black Like Me
Author: John Howard Griffin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 5/23/2016


Loved this book! What courage it took to go through this experience. I am deeply embarrassed that human beings acted this way. Makes me challenge my thinking as to what else do I dismiss or look down upon that has been conditioned to me by society.


Coffee & Kung Fu
Coffee & Kung Fu
Author: Karen Brichoux
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 59
Review Date: 5/5/2019


Loved the characters and the introspection of the lead.


Do Not Become Alarmed
Do Not Become Alarmed
Author: Maile Meloy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 11/29/2020


Things happen in the blink of an eye. Really enjoyed this book - read in one sitting. Suspenseful action, complicated emotions.


The Land of Painted Caves (Earth's Children, Bk 6)
The Land of Painted Caves (Earth's Children, Bk 6)
Author: Jean M. Auel
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 8/16/2017


Overall loved teh series - the sixth book dragged on with ALL the cave detail - I found myself skimming and skipping whole paragraphs. I do want to continue reading about their lives, sad it was the last book


Ordinary Grace
Ordinary Grace
Author: William Kent Krueger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 123
Review Date: 11/15/2019


This book wasn't overly dramatic, some humor and the journey of a young boy learning boundaries. Loved the story of the Dad and his relationship with his brother.


The Rent Collector
The Rent Collector
Author: Camron Wright
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 9/20/2020
Helpful Score: 1


Loved this book! The story of hope and grace and everyday life comes alive. It also shows the power of books and how literature is so magical.


The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Author: Taylor Jenkins Reid
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 106
Review Date: 4/20/2019
Helpful Score: 1


I have three kids and I read this book in less than a week! The characters are aptly true to who they are and the twist at the end was a surprise. Definitely recommend


Station Eleven
Station Eleven
Author: Emily St. John Mandel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 11/10/2017


Intriguing - and even in the worst of times, we are reminded how small the world really is. It certainly reminds us how very fortunate so many of us are. I wish the author would have spent more time with the memory Kane that Kristen and Clark would have had.


A Wrinkle in Time (Time, Bk 1)
A Wrinkle in Time (Time, Bk 1)
Author: Madeleine L'Engle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 901
Review Date: 5/23/2016


Overall a decent read however I struggled finishing it, it didn't hold my attention. Partly because I find it difficult to imagine crossing over dimensions.


Yellow Crocus (Freedman/Johnson, Bk 1)
Yellow Crocus (Freedman/Johnson, Bk 1)
Author: Laila Ibrahim
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 9/10/2023


I really enjoyed the character development.


1 to 12 of 12