Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 

Karen P. (drkaren) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 61 - Page:
1636: Commander Cantrell in the West Indies (The Ring of Fire)
1636: Commander Cantrell in the West Indies (The Ring of Fire)
Author: Eric Flint, Charles E. Gannon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/28/2016


Unlike many long running series, the books from the 1632 Universe just keep getting better and better. I do recommend starting from the beginning, but know that you will enjoy it as it unfolds in a thousand directions. This is my favorite example of alternative history.


The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People
The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People
Author: Stephen R. Covey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 436
Review Date: 8/15/2009


While I think this is good advice, apparently my various mentors had already passed on the salient points. I found this book rather condescending and it bored me to tears.


Against the Tide (Council Wars, Bk 3)
Against the Tide (Council Wars, Bk 3)
Author: John Ringo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 10/3/2009


This is an excellent apocalyptic series set in the far future. The characters are well-drawn and the plot is complex without being too busy.


And Both Were Young
And Both Were Young
Author: Madeleine L'Engle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 10/3/2009


Excellent young adult book about the relationships that develop in the face of worldwide tumult.


Ashes of Victory (Honor Harrington Series, Book 9)
Ashes of Victory (Honor Harrington Series, Book 9)
Author: David Weber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 104
Review Date: 10/3/2009


Not my favorite of the series, but well written and worth reading.


Audrey
Audrey
Author: Alexander Walker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/11/2008


Excellent biography of a lovely lady


Beauty
Beauty
Author: Sheri S. Tepper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 100
Review Date: 10/7/2014


I have always enjoyed modern retakes on the traditional fairy tales. Beauty is my favorite of these, with current events of the time and modern science effortlessly added to the original tale. Highly recommended for modern fantasy lovers.


A Bone to Pick (Aurora Teagarden, Bk 2)
A Bone to Pick (Aurora Teagarden, Bk 2)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 378
Review Date: 3/23/2010


This one had some lovely surprises, kept the book moving well. Much more insight into Aurora's mother as well.


Brightness Reef (Uplift Storm, Bk 1) (Uplift, Bk 4)
Brightness Reef (Uplift Storm, Bk 1) (Uplift, Bk 4)
Author: David Brin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 96
Review Date: 5/10/2013


This is an interesting look at how society can change if given the chance. David Brin's Uplift universe is a very positive look at how humanity handles itself when faced with older, wiser (?) species.


A Brother's Price
A Brother's Price
Author: Wen Spencer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 104
Review Date: 10/3/2009


Best gender-swapped victorian novel I've ever read. I'd love to see more done in this world.


Cry Wolf (Alpha and Omega, Bk 1)
Cry Wolf (Alpha and Omega, Bk 1)
Author: Patricia Briggs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 870
Review Date: 3/23/2010


Patricia Briggs has never let me down. Interesting characters with good detail, excellent world building. I look forward to her other books in this realm.


Definitely Dead (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 6)
Definitely Dead (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 6)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1906
Review Date: 5/10/2015


Delightful as they all are, with some insight into the non-wolf weres


Doll Bones
Doll Bones
Author: Holly Black
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/25/2019


I did enjoy this book. It was an excellent if a bit horrific young adult adventure story. I would definitely have enjoyed it as a 12 year old, too.


Doomsday Book
Doomsday Book
Author: Connie Willis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 280
Review Date: 10/30/2013


Absolutely fantastic. I could not put it down.


The Dragon Quintet
The Dragon Quintet
Author: Tanith Lee, Michael Swanwick, Elizabeth Moon, Mercedes Lackey, Orson Scott Card
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/23/2010


I really liked every story in this book and will be looking up those books mentioned for these authors that I have yet to read. These are all established and talented authors, I highly recommend this to any fantasy lover.


Echoes of Honor (Honor Harrington, Bk 8)
Echoes of Honor (Honor Harrington, Bk 8)
Author: David Weber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 93
Review Date: 3/23/2010


As an Honor Harrington fan I am biased in favor of these books, but I like the follow up that Weber is doing with other characters in the series.


A Feast for Crows (Song of Ice and Fire, Bk 4)
A Feast for Crows (Song of Ice and Fire, Bk 4)
Author: George R. R. Martin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 319
Review Date: 12/20/2011


Once again, a must read in the series. Can't wait for the next one.


A Fistful of Collars (Chet and Bernie, Bk 5)
A Fistful of Collars (Chet and Bernie, Bk 5)
Author: Spencer Quinn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 10/15/2023


Wonderful mysteries narrated by Chet, the dog partner of the Little Detective Agency, missing persons their specialty. Spencer Quinn captures the dog viewpoint with humor and accuracy. Highly recommended, especially for dog lovers.


A Fool and His Honey (Aurora Teagarden, Bk 6)
A Fool and His Honey (Aurora Teagarden, Bk 6)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 245
Review Date: 3/23/2010


These are a fun light read.


Geektastic: Stories from the Nerd Herd
Review Date: 2/16/2022


This collection will bring back memories, good and bad, from any and all geeks. I enjoyed it tremendously.


1 to 20 of 61 - Page: