Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 

Tanya K. (ForeverDreaming) - Reviews

1 to 15 of 15
12 Days: A Modern Twist on The Twelve Days of Christmas
12 Days: A Modern Twist on The Twelve Days of Christmas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/3/2009


I was very excited when I finally found this book. I started reading it and was immediately disappointed. I almost didn't make it through the first story. Once I finally did finish the first story, it took me a couple of days to pick it up again. There were a couple of stories that really held my interest and I wished that they had been longer, but there were a few stories that should have been left out of the book altogether. I had only read one of the authors before and that was Sophie Kinsella. The remaining authors were new to me.


Are You There Vodka? It's Me, Chelsea
Are You There Vodka? It's Me, Chelsea
Author: Chelsea Handler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 2/3/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book was excellent. I can't wait to read another of her books. I laughed so hard I had tears streaming down my face and I had to stop reading in order to compose myself long enough to be able to see the writing again. If you are looking for something that will make you laugh and you aren't afraid of the "politically incorrect", then this is the book for you.


Be Sweet
Be Sweet
Author: Diann Hunt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 7/27/2009
Helpful Score: 3


Excellent book. I will definately read more by this author. It was a quick, easy, fun read. The story flowed very well. I really enjoyed the voice that the book was written in and I really connected with the humor. The only complaint I have is that I didn't realize the book was written about 40 somethings. The cover made me think of 30 somethings and I kept having to remind myself most of the way thru of the age because the age does matter in this story. Overall, Light and very enjoyable. I am sorry that I rented it at the library or I would have posted it to share.


Beautiful Boy: A Father's Journey Through His Son's Meth Addiction
Beautiful Boy: A Father's Journey Through His Son's Meth Addiction
Author: David Sheff
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 161
Review Date: 2/3/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This was a very heart wrenching story. I went through many tissues while reading it. In some ways, I wish I hadn't read this book. It makes you realize that a drug addiction can happen to any family no matter how close you are. I have a 4 year old daughter and just pray that she doesn't take this route. I really felt for the whole family in this story. There were definately things that the father did that I thought I would never be able to do, but you just don't know until it happens to you. It really gives you a look into a drug addicts life and family. I also think it gives you signs to look for in your own family. I feel this is something that every parent should read. I am going to read Tweak by Nic Sheff next as I am curious to read the same story from a completely different point of view.


Bloodsucking Fiends: A Love Story (Vampire, Bk 1)
Bloodsucking Fiends: A Love Story (Vampire, Bk 1)
Author: Christopher Moore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 143
Review Date: 7/27/2009


I loved this book. It was my first book by this author and I have now purchased You Suck and Dirty Job. This was a very fun book and kept me interested the whole way through. I really enjoyed the writing style. A must read if you are at all interested in paranormal stories.


Broken
Broken
Author: Megan Hart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 137
Review Date: 11/13/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I absolutely loved this book. The erotica part was fun, but the story was amazing. Very beautifully written. I really need a story it can't just be fluff. This book had a great story. I would really recommend reading this book.


Carpe Demon: Adventures of a Demon-Hunting Soccer Mom (Bk 1)
Carpe Demon: Adventures of a Demon-Hunting Soccer Mom (Bk 1)
Author: Julie Kenner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 281
Review Date: 8/27/2010


I loved this book! It was a fast and fun read. I just ordered the second book in the series.


Every Boy's Got One (Boy, Bk 3)
Every Boy's Got One (Boy, Bk 3)
Author: Meg Cabot
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 369
Review Date: 8/23/2009


This was my favorite in the Boy Next Door series. I really liked the style of all 3 books. Very fast reads and fun! I really liked the story line of this one. After reading it, I read the author notes and it is based on her own wedding experience. If you are in the mood for a quick, fun, and light read, this is it. I hope Meg writes more books in this style, I would definitly pick them up.


The Host
The Host
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1201
Review Date: 8/27/2011


This was one of the absolute best books I have ever read. I was hooked from the first page. I was not ready for the story to end. It made me laugh and smile and cry (sob almost). It is my first book by Stephanie Meyer. This is definately a must read!


Immortal: Love Stories with Bite
Review Date: 8/3/2010


I really liked this book. I liked every story in it, some more than others. Very quick enjoyable read.


Little Pink Slips
Little Pink Slips
Author: Sally Koslow
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 7/27/2009


This book was very hard to get into. The descriptions were over the top. I was finally able to get into the story about half way thru and then it was good. The story line was interesting or I wouldn't have even continued past about page 30 or so. I just think this author was too wordy and descriptive about stuff that didn't enhance or contribute to the story in any way. I was also somewhat disapointed in the ending, it just seemed very abrupt. Overall I ended up enjoying the book, but I probably will not read another one by this author. I was glad it was a library rental.


Love in Vein: Tales of Vampire Erotica
Love in Vein: Tales of Vampire Erotica
Author: Poppy Z. Brite (Editor)
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 122
Review Date: 9/29/2010


This book was awful. I couldn't even follow the majority of the stories in this book. There was maybe 1 or 2 stories that I did like, but I didn't LOVE any of them. I didn't even finish reading a couple of them.


Many Bloody Returns
Many Bloody Returns
Author: Charlaine Harris (Editor), Toni L. P. Kelner (Editor)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 174
Review Date: 8/20/2010


Excellent book. I loved every story in this book. Because of this book, I now have a couple new authors to add to my list.


Three to Get Deadly (Stephanie Plum, Bk 3)
Three to Get Deadly (Stephanie Plum, Bk 3)
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 102
Review Date: 6/23/2010


Quick fun read. My favorite so far of the Stephanie Plum series. The author gets wittier with each book.


You Suck: A Love Story (Vampire, Bk 2)
You Suck: A Love Story (Vampire, Bk 2)
Author: Christopher Moore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 9/17/2009


I just finished reading this and I can't wait until the 3rd book in this series comes out. I thought Bloodsucking Fiends was a great book and then I read You Suck. What a great story. It is funny and suspenseful! You should definitely read Bloodsucking Fiends first or you will miss some of the little things. Make sure you understand when you read his books that they are meant to be funny, not serious. I have to say I was sad the book was over and I immediately went online to Christopher Moore's page and found that there will be a third book! I can't wait. I will buy it as soon as it is released!


1 to 15 of 15