Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 

Coleen K. (indygo88) - , - Reviews

1 to 9 of 9
The Birth of Venus
The Birth of Venus
Author: Sarah Dunant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 761
Review Date: 7/19/2009


I've had several of Dunant's on my shelves for quite some time now, but this is the first I've actually found time to delve into. I loved the beginning of the novel: upon the death of a nun, her convent sisters discover a very detailed tattoo of a snake, with its tail beginning up across her shoulder & its body gradually winding across her chest & leading down to...well, you can probably guess -- where, instead of a snake's head, the head of a man resides. A very gripping and eye-opening beginning to a story.

From there, the story goes back in time to retrace the nun's history. The pace of the novel is a bit slower now, but still intriguing nonetheless. A few minor plot twists are thrown in along the way, and the reader is anxious to know how the main character of Alessandra evolves into the nun at the beginning of the story. I must admit I was doubtful as to the credibility of how Dunant was going to bring this full circle, but I was quite pleased by how she did end up doing so.


The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Author: Mark Haddon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4456
Review Date: 12/7/2008


A quick read, but very enjoyable. As someone who works with children on the autism spectrum (although most that I see are not as high-functioning as the Christopher in this story), I thought in many ways I could understand and relate to the characterization in the book, but in other ways it seemed very enlightening to me. I commend Mark Haddon for doing an excellent job with this story, both as a story in itself & with the point of view he chose to utilize.


Dave Barry's Complete Guide to Guys
Dave Barry's Complete Guide to Guys
Author: Dave Barry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 12/7/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I think this book just basically reinforces all those qualities about men that we, as women (I guess I'm speaking to the women readers here), have always known. At times I thought Dave Barry got almost a little too sarcastic or was trying too hard to be funny, but it was still an overall good read. And I guess I had to pause & think, and then totally agree, that he does have a good point in that almost every single act of violence in the world is instigated by someone of the male species. Women just generally aren't very violent, are they? But men seem to have this underlying drive to be such. Makes you think.


Gods in Alabama (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 3/11/2009
Helpful Score: 6


I loved this book & thought it was great on audio. I, for one, thought Catherine Taber did an excellent job as the reader. I've read Jackson's other two novels on audio also (which she narrated herself) & feel Taber caught the southern dialect in this one well, as Jackson intended it. (Some southern accents annoy me; hers did not.) I don't feel the book description does this novel justice, though. The description makes it sound somewhat silly & frivolous, but I thought this story had just the right amount of humor, mystery, & sober seriousness to keep the reader very engaged. This book (the oldest of Jackson's current three) has been my favorite thus far.


How Would Jesus Vote?: A Christian Perspective on the Issues
Review Date: 12/7/2008


Our small bible study group used this book as a bible study guide prior to 2008's election. Though I agreed with some aspects, I disagreed with others. Don't believe the book's description of a "nonpartisan" point of view. Even the right-wing members of our group agreed that this was a very Republican-sided book.


Light on Snow
Light on Snow
Author: Anita Shreve
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 406
Review Date: 12/7/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This book wasn't bad, but it didn't grab me like I felt it could've. Lots of potential for this story, but not sure it lived up to that. This was actually the first Anita Shreve I read (audiobook). I think each of her stories are very different, which is a good quality for an author to have.


The Pact: A Love Story
The Pact: A Love Story
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 745
Review Date: 12/7/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This was my second Picoult book. I think she does an excellent job dealing with the feelings and emotions of all characters involved. I can't imagine having to go through something like this from any perspective, and I hope I never do. This book was hard to put down, and I found myself getting wrapped up in the whirlwind of emotions throughout. I was very near tears a few times. And like the Picoult book I read right before this one, you never know quite how it's going to end up until the very end.

On the other hand, I did find some of it somewhat unrealistic, but I won't go into detail at the risk of being a spoiler.

That being said, I highly recommend the book. Definitely a tear jerker.


Still Life with Chickens: Starting Over in a House by the Sea
Still Life with Chickens: Starting Over in a House by the Sea
Author: Catherine Goldhammer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 3/9/2010
Helpful Score: 2


I don't know much about chickens, other than that when I see them, esp. running about in a farmyard, I laugh. They're just funny creatures. And so when a copy of this book found its way into my hands, I chuckled at the title & thought, "Why not?" You could easily read this in one sitting, although in my case, I carried it around with me for quite a while, reading bits here & there during breaks in my workday. I loved this little gem of a memoir. I loved Catherine Goldhammer's writing style. I laughed. I learned about chickens. And I grew to appreciate the task of "starting over", as the author did. I'd highly recommend this to anyone.


Wicked (Wicked Years, Bk 1)
Wicked (Wicked Years, Bk 1)
Author: Gregory Maguire
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 129
Review Date: 12/7/2008
Helpful Score: 3


I read this for book club. Not what I expected. Some parts were really interesting, and others sort of dragged. I guess I was expecting some more elaboration on the Dorothy vs. Witch relationship stemming from the "Wizard of Oz". However, very little of that is mentioned. This book deals more with the Witch's life prior to that time. And from what I hear from others, readers either really like or really dislike Gregory Maguire's writing.


1 to 9 of 9