Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Judy W. (sciencelady) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 22 - Page:
Alvor
Alvor
Author: Laura Bingham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 4/10/2012


This was a fun book that let me escape to another place easily. You can believe in magic with this story.


Ancient Egyptian Design Coloring Book
Ancient Egyptian Design Coloring Book
Author: Ed Sibbett Jr.
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/10/2012


This is a great book of designs that can be adapted for stitching, card making, or painting.


The Cat, the Lady and the Liar (Cats in Trouble, Bk 3)
The Cat, the Lady and the Liar (Cats in Trouble, Bk 3)
Author: Leann Sweeney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 6/5/2012
Helpful Score: 2


This was not a favorite of the series, but still engaging and kept me guessing as to the outcome.


Chasing the Horizon: Our Adventures Through the British Isles and France (Journeys of Light)
Review Date: 8/1/2015


This was an enjoyable tour of the countries. I skimmed over the father's actions and concentrated on the descriptions of the places. The paintings and sketches were a wonderful addition to the text.


Hex Marks the Spot (Bewitching, Bk 3)
Hex Marks the Spot (Bewitching, Bk 3)
Author: Madelyn Alt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 266
Review Date: 3/8/2012


Witchery and mystery combine for fun reading.


If You've Got It, Haunt It (Haunted Vintage, Bk 1)
If You've Got It, Haunt It (Haunted Vintage, Bk 1)
Author: Rose Pressey
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 11/16/2018


This is a quirky and fun book to read. It flows easily and keeps you guessing.


King Kobold Revived
King Kobold Revived
Author: Christopher Stasheff
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 1/8/2018


Stasheff writes interesting books that tickle your funny bone as well as making you think a bit. It's fun to imagine a world like whichever one he's painting . It's always entertaining.


A Long Line of Cells: Collected Essays
A Long Line of Cells: Collected Essays
Author: Lewis Thomas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/21/2013


Lewis Thomas is a very readable scientist. The essays open your mind and educate at the same time. Very enjoyable for scientists and laymen.


Murder Has a Motive (Mordecai Tremaine, Bk 2)
Murder Has a Motive (Mordecai Tremaine, Bk 2)
Author: Francis Duncan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 4/21/2018


I like the old style of the writing. There is plenty to ponder with no extraneous sex scenes or foul language.


Murder Past Due (Cat in the Stacks, Bk 1)
Murder Past Due (Cat in the Stacks, Bk 1)
Author: Miranda James, Dean James
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 148
Review Date: 10/30/2013
Helpful Score: 3


I love these books with the Maine Coon Cat. The plots are interesting and the characters are believable and down home. No lurid sex scenes mar the plot but there is a gentle romantic theme to most.


No Rest for the Wiccan (Bewitching, Bk 4)
No Rest for the Wiccan (Bewitching, Bk 4)
Author: Madelyn Alt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 229
Review Date: 3/8/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Another interesting blend of witchcraft and skepticism as well as mystery.


Town in a Blueberry Jam (Candy Holliday, Bk 1)
Town in a Blueberry Jam (Candy Holliday, Bk 1)
Author: B. B. Haywood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 91
Review Date: 6/17/2012
Helpful Score: 1


This was a fun book that kept me guessing as to the identity of the evil-doer. The characters were likeable and believeable. I learned a bit about harvesting wild blueberries as well as gleaning some idea of the Maine area, with which I am unfamiliar. Overall I would rate it quite favorably.


Tris's Book (Circle Of Magic, Bk 2)
Tris's Book (Circle Of Magic, Bk 2)
Author: Tamora Pierce
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 154
Review Date: 12/27/2017


Although these books are targeted for young readers, I find that the series is well written and quiet good for a light, quick reading session. The stories hang together and move forward with well-tuned plots.


Troll Blood
Troll Blood
Author: Katherine Langrish
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/15/2017


This was a fun continuation of the series. It was imaginative and kept you rooting for the good guys!


The Trouble with Magic (Bewitching, Bk 1)
The Trouble with Magic (Bewitching, Bk 1)
Author: Madelyn Alt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 488
Review Date: 3/8/2012


This is a fun series in which witchcraft is viewed with sketicism by the heroine, but cautiously embraced anyway.


Tyrannosaur Canyon (Wyman Ford, Bk 1)
Tyrannosaur Canyon (Wyman Ford, Bk 1)
Author: Douglas Preston
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 162
Review Date: 9/4/2016


This was a riveting book. I liked the flashbacks to the "actual" dinosaur and its life interspersed with the main story line of the fossil. There were several threads to the story, but it was not hard to follow. Overall I would rate this book as five stars.


An Unmentionable Murder (Manor House, Bk 9)
An Unmentionable Murder (Manor House, Bk 9)
Author: Kate Kingsbury
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 7/22/2012


This is an enjoyable book and offers, in a somewhat lighthearted manner, a little insight into the wartime conditions in England. Ration books, meatless meals, blackouts and more were some of their everyday realities. The knicker twist was just added fun.


An Unwilling Guest (Grace Livingston Hill, No 65)
An Unwilling Guest (Grace Livingston Hill, No 65)
Author: Grace Livingston Hill
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 10/10/2012


While I love older texts that have a nice story-line and the closest thing to a sex scene is a chaste kiss, I had forgotten that Hill laces her books with a lot of religeous text and messages. At least here the drive to convert someone to Christ is an integral part of the story and not just filler. Not a favorite.


Warrior Queen
Warrior Queen
Author: Robert Tyler Stevens, James Sinclair
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/21/2013


This is the story of Britain's Boadicea, Queen of the Iceni, and the exploits of her Celtic army against the Romans. This is a vivid and moving romance of what was and what might have been: a story of love, hate, triumph, tragedy and the haunting aftermath.


The Wells of Williamsburg: Colonial Time Capsules
The Wells of Williamsburg: Colonial Time Capsules
Author: Ivor Noel Hume
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/21/2013


This informative little book offers glimpses into the past and is entertaining to read. Ivor Hume is scholarly but has a great sense of humor as well. Some of this peeps out in the book.


1 to 20 of 22 - Page:
Want fewer ads?