Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Lori C. (LoBri) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 42 - Page:
Along Came a Spider (Alex Cross, Bk 1)
Along Came a Spider (Alex Cross, Bk 1)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1062
Review Date: 12/1/2008


This book was by far one of my favorite James Patterson books with Alex Cross as the hero.
If you love suspense and plot twists, do not miss this one.


Are You There Vodka? It's Me Chelsea
Are You There Vodka? It's Me Chelsea
Author: Chelsea Handler
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 399
Review Date: 11/7/2008
Helpful Score: 6


I read this book on an airplane from Atlanta, GA to Moline,IL. I bet my seatmate hated me because she was trying to sleep while I was laughing my butt off. I loved this book. Even if you are not a fan of hers, you will have a hard time keeping a straight face. With her bawdy sense of humor and her total commitment to telling on herself, Chelsea is one of the funniest comediennes in America today.


Backseat Saints
Backseat Saints
Author: Joshilyn Jackson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 7/29/2013
Helpful Score: 1


I LOVE JOSHILYN JACKSON!

In Backseat Saints, we get a little different twist on domestic violence. Yes, we see how the violator chooses and trains their victims, but we also see how the victim becomes a victim time and time again. It is a process that not everyone understands. "Why do they stay? Why do they let someone treat them like that?" These are phrases heard over and over and over again. This book may help you understand "Why."

Joshilyn's sense of humor is fantastic. Even in such a dramatic book, I found myself laughing throughout the book. She is one of the best!


Christmas Sucks: What to Do When Fruitcake, Family, and Finding the Perfect Gift Make You Miserable
Review Date: 12/6/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Christmas does suck at times. But it also brings a lot of joy. This book is a fast, funny read that helps you to laugh about some of the things that cause stress during the season. It also helps you to realize you are not alone. Most people have a love/hate relationship with the holiday season.

Sit down for 2 hours and read this book. It will reward you with laughter.


The Complete Guide to Building Decks (Black  Decker Home Improvement Library)
Review Date: 10/12/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This is a fantastic book for the advanced builder as well as the everyday do it yourself handyman. The pictures are excellent. Very easy to follow and well written. There are decks of every shape imaginable and they are designed to fit the moderate to high end budget.


Eleven Days (Carl Houseman, Bk 1)
Eleven Days (Carl Houseman, Bk 1)
Author: Donald Harstad
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 9/29/2015


I have to agree with Michael Connelly,"A hell of a first novel...gripping and unsettling."

From the first page to the last, I was on the edge of my seat. I rarely get a chance to sit and read for hours at a time, but once I opened this book, I took the time. Being a retired 911 Dispatcher in Iowa for many years, I am always critical of the writing when it pertains to procedure. Donald Harstad gave me nothing to complain about.

Carl Houseman is an ordinary Deputy doing an extraordinary job. He puts on his ballistic vest, straps on his gun and hits the streets. We all know that in a small town not much happens most of the time. But when a satanic cult begins to gain a huge presence in town, Deputy Houseman and his brothers and sisters in law enforcement gear up and get the bad guy.

I was off track a couple of times in solving this crime, but by the end I had figured it out. There were a few really good plot twists, strong and interesting characters and a whole lot of drama! I can not wait to start on "Known Dead", the next book in this series.


Every Last One (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Every Last One (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Anna Quindlen, Hope Davis (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 10/22/2014
Helpful Score: 1


When my daughter Angie read this book she labeled it "gut wrenching." The unabridged audio book had been on my shelf for a year by then, and her comment pushed me to read it. "Every Last One" is a book that will stick with me for a long time. Quindlen's ability to introduce you to her characters in such a way that you want to know them is masterful.

I could completely identify with Mary Beth. Getting out of bed early to have some quiet time before her husband and 3 teenagers wake up, because then she will begin her hectic day of cooking, cleaning, managing the family activities as well as her own career as the owner of a landscaping business. Each day passes pretty much like the one before while you get to know the characters. Her life sometimes seems too much to handle, and sometimes it feels like not enough.

Mid book, everything changes from a nice family tale of daily life, to living a life you don't recognize. Like my daughter, gut wrenching describes my feelings about "Every Last One." I cried for a solid hour. I couldn't stop. The good news is I was listening to the audio book so I could still listen while I cried. Like others mentioned, I had not read the dust cover of the book and didn't know a lot about the plot, but I had read and enjoyed other Anna Quindlen novels and knew it would be at least enjoyable. It far exceeded enjoyable for me.

If you have ever known someone who has endured a terrible loss or been through a devastating experience, I would encourage you to read this book. It may help you to understand how to approach and support them and to possibly understand a little bit of what they may be going through.


Extreme Prey (Lucas Davenport, Bk 26)
Extreme Prey (Lucas Davenport, Bk 26)
Author: John Sandford
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 8/4/2016


I broke my own rule and read this out of order...shocking for OCD me, but it was recommended because of it's timely ties to the current Presidential election. The cast of characters include a tough blond female Presidential candidate, a sweet, very liberal male candidate and a plot by left wing extremists to take out the female front runner.
Add to this, it takes place in Iowa, primarily in the Iowa City area, where I was a 911 Dispatcher for many years. Mr. Sandford included many towns in the area and all over the state with clear and accurate descriptions of streets, restaurants and businesses which made the book even more interesting to this Iowa girl.
The location was my favorite part, but the story is one of Sandford's best. Fast paced, full of intrigue and lots of interesting detail. This is a must read for all crime fiction lovers, and even more so if you are from Iowa.


Freefall -- A True Story
Freefall -- A True Story
Author: Marilyn Mona Hoffer, William Hoffer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 2/26/2009


I read this book several years ago. I decided to post the book (or as I call it, put it up for adoption to a new home) but when I read the jacket, I decided I wanted to read it again before it left my house. I read it today whenever I had a spare minute. It was just as exciting as the first time I read it.
The authors capture every detail of the events in crisp, page turning detail. Even though this plane crashed in 1983, the story is as relevant today as it was then.

Great book.
I will miss it. :-(


Furiously Happy: A Funny Book About Horrible Things
Furiously Happy: A Funny Book About Horrible Things
Author: Jenny Lawson
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 11/5/2015


I just love Jenny's humor. Not sure what that says about me, but then again, I don't give a rip.

This, her second book, is not like the other. Well, not totally anyway. There are some very funny stories that made me laugh out loud. Her mind works like a set of dominoes. One thought leads to another thought and then another and then another until the original thought is all but forgotten until poof...you're connecting the dots, laughing and thinking wow, she is as crazy as me!

There are also very poignant moments, when Jenny talks about her serious bouts of depression and mental illness, with nothing held back. That part is not funny and it is not fake or staged or included for sympathy. She is very candid and talks about never being recovered but being okay with that. It has always been okay to talk about being sick, but not nearly as acceptable to talk about being mentally sick. I'm so glad that Jenny is making it okay to talk about it. Mental illness is real and debilitating but it is also possible to live a full and productive life.

Keep up the good work. Can't wait to see which dead animal she chooses for the cover of her next book. :)


The Gift Horse
The Gift Horse
Author: Sheila Hayes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/4/2008


From the back cover:

Is Andrea really a snob? When mom told me about our summer plans I nearly flipped. Mom had been hired as a cook at the Fairchild's house and we were going to live there.
Andrea Fairchild is my age and everyone knows she's a snob. Of course the Fairchild place is fabulous and Andrea owns gorgeous things. She even has a real carousel horse in her room. When Andrea shows me the horse I have to wonder: Is she just showing off or does she want to be my friend?


Going Home: Finding Peace When Pets Die
Going Home: Finding Peace When Pets Die
Author: Jon Katz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 11/5/2015


It's hard to write a review with tears running down my face.

I bought 3 copies of this book a few years ago. I gave one to my friend Donna when she lost her beloved Pomeranian "Thumper" and another for my friend Kat who was at the time planning to start an animal sanctuary. The 3rd copy I kept for myself. I didn't read it but always knew it was on my shelf.

4 days ago my husband Brian and I had to make the decision to euthanize our crazy, sweet, lovable, not so pretty, Pug girl Miss Fergie(also know as Fergala). I knew I now had to follow my own advice and read the book.

Jon Katz has wonderful insight on the subject of living with and letting go of the animals we love. I am not one to mark a book or use a highlighter on it, but this book may be one that I will. There are so many things that made me stop and think YES, EXACTLY! One particular paragraph that helped me so much is as follows:

"Animals can not talk to us, but I imagine that if they could, they would say something like this:
Speak for me. Help me to make the decisions that I can not make. Do not ask me to tell you when it's time for me to go, for that is beyond my simple province. I love you and trust you, and I have depended on you all of my life to make decisions for me. Now, when I need you the most, do not fail me. Whatever you decide, I know it will be your best decision, and I wish you nothing but peace with it."


Good in Bed (Cannie Shapiro, Bk 1)
Good in Bed (Cannie Shapiro, Bk 1)
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 2864
Review Date: 11/26/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I have not read a book in quite some time that I enjoyed as much as this one. I literally read it in 3 sittings. All 375 pages. I laughed and cried throughout the entire book. It is a book that most of us can identify with. I can't wait to read more of Jennifer's books.


I Kill Me: Tales of a Jilted Hypochondriac
I Kill Me: Tales of a Jilted Hypochondriac
Author: Tracy H. Tucker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/22/2014


I don't usually compare BUT I will just this once. Fans of Jennifer Weiner's Good in bed or Mary Kay Andrew's Hissy Fit, take note. I Kill Me is comparably smart and funny. When I started the book, I was concerned that it might be cheesy, but found myself laughing out loud through out the book.

RELAX, READ, LAUGH, ENJOY.


In the Unlikely Event
In the Unlikely Event
Author: Judy Blume
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 9/25/2015
Helpful Score: 9


What do you do when you hear Judy Blume has written a novel for adults? Get it and read it!
I was absolutely blown away by the subject matter in the book. Captivated by the title and the connection it has to the history of the Newark, NJ airport, I of course dug a little deeper and researched the actual events. Three plane crashes in under 2 months at the same airport! Unbelievable, but true. How Judy wove the fictional into the actual is pure magic.

The disasters no doubt affected hundreds if not thousands of people and how it affected those in Elizabeth New Jersey is where the artistry of Ms. Blume shines through. Miri and Natalie are the best of friends, inseparable until the first plane crash which starts a downward spiral in their friendship that no one saw coming and no one could prevent.

There are so many characters that I actually made a family tree and a cast of characters on a separate piece of paper just to keep track of who is who. Each person added to the overall story and being able to refer to my notes made it a lot easier for me.

I would have to say that while this is touted as an adult book, it would very easily fit in to the young adult category as well.

Congrats Judy Blume, you have another successful book on your hands.


Jack & Jill (Alex Cross, Bk 3)
Jack & Jill (Alex Cross, Bk 3)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 798
Review Date: 12/1/2008


Alex Cross is one of the most interesting characters ever. James Patterson once again scores a hit with me. I am typically a true crime reader but I have read most of the Patterson books and I have yet to be disappointed.


Kiss the Girls (Alex Cross, Bk 2)
Kiss the Girls (Alex Cross, Bk 2)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 887
Review Date: 12/1/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Once again James Patterson has managed to write an extremely smart, interesting, fast paced read. Often some of our more prolific writers become predictable and boring.
Not So with James Patterson


The Left-Hander's Handbook
The Left-Hander's Handbook
Author: James T. de Kay
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 11/11/2008


This book takes a hilarious look at the inside-out world of left-handedness, and proves what left-handers have always suspected--they're not only different from everybody else, they're better! "It's just a fact that lefties are more creative, more adventurous, more successful, and just more all around interesting than those who operate from the starboard side" the author asserts. Including profiles from famous lefties in history- Queen Victoria, Bob Dylan, Joan of Arc, Leonardo da Vinci for example- and special tips for the left-handed child, The Left-Handers Handbook is a celebration that is sure to bring a smile to left-handers everywhere.


Mastery: The Keys to Success and Long-Term Fullfillment
Mastery: The Keys to Success and Long-Term Fullfillment
Author: George Leonard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 7/24/2009


Drawing on Zen philosophy and his expertise in the martial are of Aikido, bestselling author George Leonard shows how the process of mastery can help us attain a higher level of excellence and a deeper sense of satisfaction and fulfillment in our daily lives. Whether you're seeking to improve your career or your intimate relationships, increase self-esteem or create harmony within yourself, this inspiring prescriptive guide will help you master anything you choose and achieve success in all areas of your life.

In Mastery, you'll discover:
The 5 Essential Keys to Mastery
Tools for Mastery
Mastery and Energy
How to Master your Athletic Potential
The 3 Personality types that are obstacles to Mastery
How to avoid pitfalls along the path
... and more


Memory House: Memory House Collection (Volume 1)
Memory House: Memory House Collection (Volume 1)
Author: Bette Lee Crosby
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/10/2015


This was my first reading of a Bette Lee Crosby novel. I chose this one because is is first in the series of 2 and I am "one of those" who needs to read books in order.
What I have heard about Bette is the truth, she writes in such an easy fluid way, that I had no problem keeping the characters straight, I was involved in the story right away which made it a very comfortable read.
Memory house is a story of 2 very strong women. Ophelia, who's nearing the end of her life and Annie, a young professional woman, who because of a life changing event is questioning who she is and what she wants out of life.

Both are at a crossroad, and they both need each other!


1 to 20 of 42 - Page:
Want fewer ads?