Skip to main content
PBS logo

Discussion Forums - Religion & Spirituality

Topic: Q for Non-Christians?

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
Page:   Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
ThreeCats avatar
Member of the Month medal
Date Posted: 5/20/2008 6:09 PM ET

Here's a .pdf of what may be the survey results Christy was talking about: http://www.pressganey.com/files/addressing_es_needs.pdf

and another pdf with some background: http://www.pressganey.com/files/rose_esn.pdf

Interesting.

Generic Profile avatar
Flobee -
Limited Member medalFriend of PBS-Silver medal
Date Posted: 5/20/2008 6:34 PM ET

Last Edited on: 6/17/08 8:00 PM ET - Total times edited: 1
sweetnessandsass avatar
Date Posted: 5/20/2008 7:37 PM ET

From JCAHO website. I should know about these, I've been doing them for 5 years in the building where I work.

http://www.jointcommission.org/AccreditationPrograms/HomeCare/Standards/FAQs/Provision+of+Care/Assessment/Spiritual_Assessment.htm

L avatar
L. G. (L)
Date Posted: 5/21/2008 12:52 PM ET

Thanks for the links, Les.  That makes a lot more sense.  It's not just a matter of people wanting "spiritual" support.  In part:

"The hospital staff’s ability to address patients’ emotional
and spiritual needs factors in to patients’ perceptions
of the overall experience of care, the provider, and
the organization. For example, as Shelton observed:
Patients need to feel that their circumstances and feelings
are appreciated and understood by the health care
team member without criticism or judgment. . . . If
patients feel that the attention they receive is genuinely
caring and tailored to meet their needs, it is far more
likely that they will develop trust and confidence in the
organization.”12(p. 63)

AND

"The results from the literature and the survey confirm
that most patients experience some form of emotional
distress or negative emotions and that hospitals do not