Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 

Search - The Cabinet of Curiosities (Pendergast, Bk 3)

The Cabinet of Curiosities (Pendergast, Bk 3)
The Cabinet of Curiosities - Pendergast, Bk 3
Author: Douglas Preston, Lincoln Child
In downtown Manhattan, a gruesome discovery has just been made-an underground charnel house containing the bones of dozens of murder victims. Research reveals that a serial killer was at work in New York's notorious Five Points neighborhood in the 1880s, bent on prolonging his lifespan by any means. When a newspaper story on the old murders ...  more »
ISBN-13: 9780446530224
ISBN-10: 0446530220
Publication Date: 6/3/2002
Pages: 496
Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 57

4.3 stars, based on 57 ratings
Publisher: Warner Books
Book Type: Hardcover
Other Versions: Paperback
Members Wishing: 1
Reviews: Member | Amazon | Write a Review

Top Member Book Reviews

reviewed The Cabinet of Curiosities (Pendergast, Bk 3) on + 2 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 6
This book was amazing,
it grabbed you from the very start,
the ending was awesome,
the whole book in general was very unusual which made it more loveable,
and its definitely a book you can re-read.
soquiet avatar reviewed The Cabinet of Curiosities (Pendergast, Bk 3) on + 20 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 5
In seven bestselling novels (from Relic to The Ice Limit), Preston and Child have delivered a body of science-based thrillers that for high excitement and robust scientific imaginings rival those of Michael Crichton. Their eighth outing is another richly entertaining tale, about the hunt for a seemingly immortal serial killer at work in New York City. Preston and Child revive characters and settings from earlier novels, often a red flag that authorial imagination is tiring; but in this case, all comes together with zing. There's FBI Special Agent Pendergast (from Relic), pale, refined and possessed of a Holmes-like brain; dogged New York Times reporter William Smithback Jr. and his fiery erstwhile girlfriend, Nora Kelly of the New York (read American, where Preston used to work) Museum of Natural History (both characters from Thunderhead with the museum the setting for Relic). The action begins when groundbreaking for an apartment tower in downtown Manhattan reveals a charnel house of murder victims from the late 19th century. Enter Pendergast, who for unexplained reasons taps Kelly to study the remains before the site is stripped by the building's developer, a Donald Trump-type who, with the mayor's backing, will accept no construction delays. As Kelly calls on Smithback for investigative help, the city is struck by killings that duplicate the earlier murders, with the victims' spinal cords ripped away and clues pointing to a 19th-century scientist who sought the secret of immortality. Featuring fabulous locales, colorful characters, pointed riffs on city and museum politics, cool forensic and paleontological speculation and several gripping set pieces including an extended white-knuckle climax, this a great beach novel, at times gruesome, always fun: Preston-Child at the top of their game.

Adult/High School-FBI Special Agent Pendergast needs the talents of Nora Kelly, an archaeologist, and William Smithback, Jr., a researcher and reporter, to track down a serial killer whom he is sure has been stalking his prey since the late-19th century. When a real-estate developer demolishes a building and finds victims of a murderer who killed by tearing out their spinal columns, the three team up to pursue the evil behind the acts. Along the way, they nearly lose their lives as they relentlessly track the killer who, indeed, is still alive at the beginning of the 21st century. Pendergast stands out as a unique character, mysterious in his own right, with almost superhuman strength and endurance, and encyclopedic knowledge, and the human emotions and abilities of his two assistants intensifies interest in them. The authors again weave facts from New York City history with a thriller plot to produce an adventure filled with fast-moving events, gruesome scenes, and enough scary moments to keep the pages turning quickly. Fans of Preston and Child's Relic (Tor, 1996) or Reliquary (Forge, 1997) will enjoy this title as well.
reviewed The Cabinet of Curiosities (Pendergast, Bk 3) on + 173 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 4
Wow....this is the best I've read of Preston and Child. It is fast-paced, full of red herrings and creepy. Great read for any mystery fan.
reviewed The Cabinet of Curiosities (Pendergast, Bk 3) on + 30 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
FBI Special Agent Pendergast needs the talents of Nora Kelly, an archaeologist, and William Smithback, Jr., a researcher and reporter, to track down a serial killer whom he is sure has been stalking his prey since the late-19th century. When a real-estate developer demolishes a building and finds victims of a murderer who killed by tearing out their spinal columns, the three team up to pursue the evil behind the acts. Along the way, they nearly lose their lives as they relentlessly track the killer who, indeed, is still alive at the beginning of the 21st century. Fans of Preston and Child's Relic or Reliquary will enjoy this title as well.
reviewed The Cabinet of Curiosities (Pendergast, Bk 3) on + 12 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
I have read all the books in this series and this is the best...a combination of the supernatural as well as a great mystery. I wish I could find more books as good as this one.
Read All 93 Book Reviews of "The Cabinet of Curiosities Pendergast Bk 3"

Please Log in to Rate these Book Reviews

author-wwiinovel avatar reviewed The Cabinet of Curiosities (Pendergast, Bk 3) on + 21 more book reviews
This latest foray into mysteries involving the New York Museum of Natural History by super FBI Agent A.X.L. Pendergast is a fascinating and twisty-turny journey that is the most personal conflict yet for the enigmatic sleuth, and involves one familiar character (William Smithback) and a new heroine: Dr. Nora Kelly. Highly recommended for Pendergast fans or any reader who enjoys a good mystery/thriller.
reviewed The Cabinet of Curiosities (Pendergast, Bk 3) on + 5 more book reviews
I have been following Agent Pendergast and Lieutenant D'Agosta for quite some years now and this installment in their crossing paths was one of my favorits. Preston and Childs spin a most enthralling tale that truely has the reader coming back for more! ENJOY!!!
althea avatar reviewed The Cabinet of Curiosities (Pendergast, Bk 3) on + 774 more book reviews
A horror/mystery about a serial killer who may have discovered the secret of immortality.... A very Dr. Jekyll/Frankenstein aesthetic, brought into a modern-day milieu - but I *really* enjoyed this book for its over-the-top, tongue in cheek portrayal of the Scary Dangerous city that is New York, and especially the portrayal of the Oh-So-Spooky! Natural History Museum (where I worked for a 9-month internship).
The book is dedicated to "librarians," which gives a clue that the totally ridiculous portrayal of the archivist and library in the museum is very intentionally so... and it is FUNNY! In that watching a bad 70's exploitation film kinda way....
However, reading the reviews on amazon.com, I dunno how many people picked up on that... they don't seem to get it. But I'm 95% sure it was supposed to be funny...
I did disagree with the ending moral, but it was very classic...
reviewed The Cabinet of Curiosities (Pendergast, Bk 3) on
enjoyable, good plot, sub plot, good character development
reviewed The Cabinet of Curiosities (Pendergast, Bk 3) on
A really good book, lots of twists and turns. There is a very slight "science fiction" element but it is melded neatly into the overall story and doesn't ring untrue.
singingmoon avatar reviewed The Cabinet of Curiosities (Pendergast, Bk 3) on + 64 more book reviews
Wow another great Preston-Child book.I just cannot stop reading their books.
reviewed The Cabinet of Curiosities (Pendergast, Bk 3) on + 358 more book reviews
Good read


Genres: