Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Search - The Dearly Beloved: A Novel

The Dearly Beloved: A Novel
The Dearly Beloved A Novel
Author: Cara Wall
A luminous debut novel about two young couples whose lives become intertwined when the husbands are appointed co-ministers of a venerable New York City church in the 1960s, spanning decades?for readers of Ann Patchett and Nicole Krauss. — Charles and Lily, James and Nan. They meet in Greenwich Village in 1963 when Charles and James are jointly hi...  more »
The Market's bargain prices are even better for Paperbackswap club members!
Retail Price: $26.99
Buy New (Hardcover): $7.79 (save 71%) or
Become a PBS member and pay $3.89+1 PBS book credit Help icon(save 85%)
ISBN-13: 9781982104528
ISBN-10: 198210452X
Publication Date: 8/13/2019
Pages: 352
Rating:
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3

4.2 stars, based on 3 ratings
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Book Type: Hardcover
Other Versions: Paperback
Members Wishing: 32
Reviews: Member | Amazon | Write a Review
data-ad-format="auto">

Top Member Book Reviews

debbiemd avatar reviewed The Dearly Beloved: A Novel on
Helpful Score: 2
The story of two men who are pastors at a church together for 40 years and their wives. The book focuses on their early years as they are in college and divinity school, meeting their wives, and then the first approximately 10 years they are together at the church in the 60s and early 70s. The rest of their history is seen in a prologue and epilogue. This is not a preachy book but instead shows the exploration of faith by the four main characters and the two men and their calling. Many reviews describe it as uplifting and it is but not in an obvious way. The four characters experience many hard, challenging times and there were parts where I cried which I have not done in a book in a long time.
Read All 3 Book Reviews of "The Dearly Beloved A Novel"

Please Log in to Rate these Book Reviews

Bonnie avatar reviewed The Dearly Beloved: A Novel on + 376 more book reviews
I have no idea or memory of adding this book to my audio TBR, but there it was. I think I started it just so I could quit and delete it as it didn't even sound like something I wanted to read. I LOVED IT! Excellent narrators, great story about 4 very different people being thrown together when the 2 men take on a shared ministry in NYC in the 60's. The best part was reading about autism in the earliest days of it's diagnosis before any treatment or acceptance.
I read the audio version.


Genres:

Want fewer ads?